Dylan Streb's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 87% response rate
  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dylan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 12 references 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • English Tutor and Editor
  • University of Vermont
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi! I'm Dylan. I am 25 years old and right now I am traveling the world while working online as a English teacher and editor. Around a year ago I graduated from the University of Vermont with a degree in Writing and Geography, since then I have been moving from place to place. I love exploring the world, meeting new people, and exposing myself to experiences that broaden my perspective.

I love conversation and sharing myself with others. My friends all tell me that they think I could get along with anyone and they are always surprised by the friendships I form even across borders. I am passionate about many things, such as reading, writing, cooking, language, philosophy, yoga, meditation, nature, animals, as well as religion/spirituality, among other things! I would be excited to talk and share about any of these subjects with a potential host :)

At my core, I value compassion, empathy, and openness. I find that the more I focus on these values the more I can enjoy the simple pleasures of life, such as sharing conversation with a stranger or simply learning about the lives of others. It is truly one of my greatest loves to share and to learn about all there is to discover.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've grown tired of the touristic ways of moving through space that are often the most advertised and accessible and am now here to try something new. Couchsurfing is a great way to expose myself to people who are attuned to the geography and local culture wherever I might be. I'm here because I love cultural exchange and, while this can be achieved without Couchsurfing, I feel that it is a great way to seek out connections, and make friends from all around the world.

Interests

  • animals
  • writing
  • fashion
  • photography
  • skin care
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • gardening
  • reading
  • classical music
  • jazz
  • hiking
  • camping
  • philosophy
  • physics
  • travel
  • art
  • food
  • spirituality
  • sleeping
  • film
  • conversation
  • mindfulness
  • outdoors
  • meeting new people
  • spontaneity
  • excercise
  • rock & roll
  • birdwatching
  • train rides

Music, Movies, and Books

Music:
Solange, Drake, Tame Impala, Sylvan Esso, Gregory Allan Isakov, Angel Olsen, Jimmy Hendrix, Choir Music, Tribal Music, Chanting, Native American Flute Music, Classical Music (Debussy and Phillip Glass are two of my favs), Jazz (Wes Montgomery, Duke Ellington, Thelonious Monk, Horace Silver)

Movies:
The Great Beauty, The Good the Bad and the Ugly, No Country for Old Men, Nashville, She's Gotta Have It, Pierrot Le Fou, Badlands, The Master, Being John Malkovich, The Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Everything Everywhere All at Once, The Whale

Books:
My favorite authors are James Baldwin, James Joyce, and Joan Didion at the moment can definitely recommend books to you. I am quite a bookworm and am usually constantly reading.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Took a road trip across America (30,000 km) in my Toyota Prius with two people I barely knew. During the trip, I almost died of a burst appendix, was offered meth, and canoed with alligators.

Teach, Learn, Share

Things I can teach/share:
Can teach English and Spanish
Can edit documents
Can provide translations between Spanish and English
Can lead an exercise or yoga session
Can cook some of my favorite food (tacos, pasta, stir fry)
Can lead in guided meditation
Can teach birdwatching techniques
Can share my experiences traveling, living, and studying in America
Can help with work around the house, cleaning, dishes, etc.
Can share movie, book, TV show, recipe recommendations

Things I am Looking to Learn:
About you and your life experiences/culture!
Recipes and cooking techniques
Lifestyle and wellness choices
Artistic endeavors (painting, drawing, collage, etc.)
Healing techniques (acupuncture, reiki, breathwork, etc.)

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Colombia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Poland, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Dylan’s full profile.

My Groups