Ellie Jones's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ellie’s full profile.


  • 77 references 20 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 40, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Student/teacher/student teacher. Also volunteer with vuln...
  • Vocational
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To see all the counties of England I haven't yet visited.


I've been living back in my hometown of Bristol for nearly two years, after having been away for some time and really appreciating what a super cool place it actually is. I do however frequently feel like I'm the only one in CS Bristol who's originally from the city!

Have returned to studying a little later in life-as it turns out, practically everybody else has as well. Who knew?


"If you think you're too small to be effective, try sharing a bed with a mosquito."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I've travelled alone a bit, and there's nothing quite like the exhilaration of wandering around a new part of the world and picking up new friends along the way, made possible mostly via CS.

I'm trying to get back into local events here in Bristol and host every now and again, when studying doesn't get too mad. I also try and make sure that non CSers know what a sparkly shiny bunch of people you chaps are!


Some total and utter diamonds. Even now. Most of this talk about CS having been taken over by drunk students is exaggeration.


Down to earth cities (hello Jakarta, Warsaw), little gigs, little festivals, finding exciting music new and old, fashion and design, feminism, veganism, hiking, indoor climbing, rowing, running, dabbling in other outdoor pursuits (I'll try most things once, as long as they don't involve falling-shudder!), on-off creative writing, tentatively learning to sew, puns both good and bad. Drumming, sort of. Wondering if politely applied radical politics is an inherent contradiction.

  • writing
  • design
  • fashion
  • festivals
  • womens rights
  • running
  • politics
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • rock climbing
  • track and field
  • rowing
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Indie, indiepop, post rock, electropop. And the 10% of pure pop that's half decent. Le Tigre, Super Furry Animals, Bearsuit, Bis, The Joy Formidable, Les Rhythmes Digitales, Duchess Says, Metronomy, Help She Can't Swim, Ladytron, Les Savy Fav, Felix da Housecat, Gravy Train!!!!, The Go! Team, SBTRKT, Blur, Girls Aloud, Architecture in Helsinki, Cibo Matto, Joanna Newsom, Caravan Palace. I'm always looking for new people to share recommendations and become geekishly excited about music with.

Withnail and I. Howl's Moving Castle. In the Loop. Shooting Fish. Delicatessen. The Royal Tenenbaums. Talk to Her. Chicken Run. Monty Python trilogy. But I'm a Cheerleader. Amelie. Rocky Horror Picture Show. Ghost World. Singing in the Rain. Priscilla Queen of the Desert. Kes.

The Importance of Being Ernest. Jane Eyre. Learning to Swim. Never Let Me Go. The Vagrants. Dogside Story. Two Caravans. Anything Wodehouse. 50 Facts That Should Change the World. The Equality Illusion, when I'm up for a laugh.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Depending on who you ask, I am scatterbrained to an endearing to maddening extent. Considering my track record of missing buses/flights due to oversleep, frequently forgetting where exactly I am and impressively managing to turn ten minute walks into two hour backwater voyages, having got myself across various parts of south east Asia seems like quite an achievement.

Teach, Learn, Share

If anybody could point me in the direction of any lesser known local/national/international women's rights charities then I would be hugely grateful. I currently volunteer on a helpline for survivors of rape/sexual assault which is...well, hard to describe on here but it has made me very eager to get involved with other feminist organisations when my college course finishes.

My background in teaching English may well come in handy if you're looking to improve/practise yours, or for that matter if you're thinking of teaching the language yourself. Or if you're thinking of teaching any group of adults, really. Have picked up enough knowledge of educational theories/developments to hold a semi coherent conversation, totally understand if you'd rather not.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Malaysia, Netherlands, Poland, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Indonesia, South Africa, Thailand, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • 12 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Ellie’s full profile.

My Groups