Ellis Thistle's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 73% response rate
  • Last login 25 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ellis’s full profile.

Overview

  • 7 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Polish; learning Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Japanese
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Support Worker/Event Coordinator/Designer
  • BA Graphic Design at Arts University Bournemouth
  • From Warsaw, Masovian Voivodeship, Poland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Open-minded, queer, sober, neurodivergent. I haven't travelled as much as I would like but I am hoping to change it. I am a very independent traveller — I enjoy exploring new places, not necessarily sticking to the classic tourist attractions. I also love food and trying new foods, as long as they're not too spicy!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I think there is no better way to explore a new area than with a local – both as a guest and a host. I love meeting new people and sharing my knowledge and experiences. I also want to offer a safe and welcoming space for people like me.

Interests

I love cycling – it is my main mode of transport and I am very confident on the road. I enjoy the outdoors in general and spending time in nature. I have tried paddleboarding and kayaking a number of times in the last couple of years and really enjoyed it, but I am very much a beginner! I like foraging although it is not as common in England so it has been a while.

I am a little nerdy when it comes to my interests and like going in-depth with them. I speak a little of nearly 10 languages, I enjoy going to museums and art galleries and I find the science behind cooking fascinating. I am always learning random things and my head is full of trivia.

I studied graphic design when I was younger and I still enjoy making art, taking photographs and exploring different ways of visual expression.

My guilty pleasures include karaoke, Dance Dance Revolution and the Eurovision Song Contest.

  • cats
  • arts
  • design
  • photography
  • cooking
  • baking
  • sauna
  • karaoke
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • languages
  • psychology
  • volunteering
  • foodie
  • paddleboarding
  • neurodiversity
  • lgbtq+

Music, Movies, and Books

I don't watch many films and I mostly read non-fiction, sorry!

I listen to all sorts of music but the majority of my playlist is new wave, synthpop, indie rock and pop, particularly 80s classics. Music plays a big part in the way I explore new languages and cultures so I really enjoy learning about new artists you like, particularly if I am learning your language already!

See if you can spot any of your favourites below:

alt-J, Blur, Bombay Bicycle Club, Bronski Beat, Christine and the Queens, Dingo, Florence + the Machine, Foals, Gary Numan, Indochine, Joy Division, Kate Bush, Kuumaa, Lady Gaga, Lady Pank, Leevi and the Leavings, Marek Grechuta, MGMT, Pariisin Kevät, Pet Shop Boys, Pink Floyd, Queen, Radiohead, Republika, Talking Heads, The Clash, The Cure

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

My proudest achievement is starting and running a very successful community group for neurodivergent queer people. It has been growing for nearly two years and we were invited to join the local Pride parade, being the only group representing our community — super rewarding!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I’m a decent cook and would love to cook for you – I have dealt with plenty of dietary needs with my friends and family too so I’m confident with a variety of restrictions. I am also more than happy to bring some Polish or English snacks if I am visiting you abroad – just let me know what you like.

I have not travelled much in the last few years but I am very open about my own story and my work, including my move to the UK, gender transition and late diagnosis of autism/ADHD.

My current role involves a lot of emotional support to people of all kinds and I enjoy deep conversations more than small talk so feel free to ask me anything.

Countries I’ve Visited

Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Netherlands, Slovakia, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Poland, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Ellis’s full profile.

My Groups