Eric Varela's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 44% response rate
  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Eric’s full profile.

Overview

  • 23 references 22 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Principal Specialist in Renewable Energies
  • Industrial Automation Engineering
  • From Mexico
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I like hearing stories and learning traditions from people coming from other countries in the world.

ABOUT ME

I'm Eric and moved to Charlotte recently. I was born and raised in Mexico, but I've lived in France (Paris), Stockholm (Sweden), and the US (Seattle) over the last 15 years. I like meeting people as a host and when traveling.

PHILOSOPHY

I like having fun and spending a good time with people. I enjoy the feeling of sharing normal things such as a meal, a coffee, a conversation, you name it. I like simple people that are able to realize how fortunate we are just by having another day to do anything we wish.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have a couch where you can crash. I offer a space for travelers who would like to stay and have a conversation.

I'm located in the 1st Ward neighborhood in Charlotte Uptown, I'm keen to explore the area with travelers who would like to know more about the city.

Interests

I really enjoy bouldering/rock climbing, cycling, and training calisthenics.

Other interests are the world's culture and traditions, being in contact with nature, learning technology, dancing salsa or bachata, photography, watching sports (especially soccer), and eating delicious food.

  • culture
  • photography
  • dancing
  • dining
  • coffee
  • running
  • technology
  • traveling
  • watching sports
  • socializing
  • bouldering
  • guitar
  • outdoor activities
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • soccer

Music, Movies, and Books

I like books in French and Spanish... I've started reading a lot of books in English recently.

My favorite music is Jazz, I enjoy the vibe and sounds of it. I also enjoy a lot of Latin American rock bands such as Camilo Septimo, Technicolor Fabrics, Surfistas del sistema, Zoe. But I'm also open to new genres and groups.

Generally, I enjoy diverse types of music. I used to play the guitar, but not so much nowadays.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

When I was working in Mexico for an oil company. One day when I was in the middle of the jungle doing some on-call work, I woke up in the morning, got out from the trailer and the first thing that I saw outside was this really huge Anaconda (about 6 meters long) and the jaws of that "pretty thing" were jammed in the fence of my house =O!

Teach, Learn, Share

I enjoy meeting people with an adventurous spirit, people that have the envy to travel and learn about the world by exploring it (it is by this way that we can have the impression that the world is so huge and interesting that a lifetime is not enough to learn about all of it).

I really like to learn from people with stories, we are humans and everyone has a story to tell. We do not do things wrong, those are experiences and we must learn the lessons from our experiences.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Time and adventures!

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, Costa Rica, Denmark, France, Germany, Indonesia, Mali, Qatar, Singapore, Sweden

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Mexico, Sweden, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Eric’s full profile.