Etienne Ghyoot's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 17 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Etienne’s full profile.


  • 71 references 56 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English
  • 43, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Entrepreneur, Musician
  • Post grad
  • From Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


I love traveling.
And I love meeting new people.
So CS sounds like the perfect place for me!

I play in a band, so if your timing is good, I might even be able to take you along to some gigs!


I like to help people.
I believe we each have a purpose on this planet.
I try to reduce my carbon footprint where I can.
I believe in a higher power.
I believe in the truth. Even if it hurts.
I believe that I know nothing. I am inquisitive.
I am passionate. I can be intense.
I like to think that I think outside of the box.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I really enjoy showing people around my city. Having lived here all my life, I can take you to some off-the-beaten-track places.


I have officially and unofficially surfed couches (and floors :) all over the world and have hosted and shown many people around Johannesburg and surrounds.
Most (99%) have been extraordinary experiences!



Chatting about the meaning of it all with strangers.
Challenging myself in unusual ways/facing my fears.

  • gardening
  • music
  • hiking

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Anything that moves me to dance, remember, relax, forget or just go crazy!

Some favourites:

Tori Amos. Her music speaks to me in ways that I cannot explain.

Jack Savoretti. Discovered him in the UK while traveling and he is a poet who happens to sing.

Alexi Murdoch. What is it with me and these singer/songwriters from the UK?

John Mayer. I get a lot of flack for this (are you sure deep down you're not a 16yr old girl?) but apart from being a bit of a celeb, John is just a great guitar player and songwriter.

Dallas Green/City and Colour. The soundtrack to my 2009 US trip. Ironic (He is Canadian :)

Sarah McLachlan.

Dave Matthews Band. Yeah for my fellow South African!

Live. Throwing Copper. Need I say more?

Missy Higgins. So young yet so mature...

Ben Howard!!!

Newton Faulkner

My favourite book is Nineteen eighty-four by George Orwell. Nowadays, I don't really get to read as much as I'd like to. I like autobiographies by interesting people. I also enjoy travel books. If I have the time, I'll read anything, as long as it's good! Not so much into fiction anymore though. Except if it's Terry Pratchett for a bit of comic relief.

Movies: I love 'em all! Some favourites:
Stranger Than Fiction
V for Vendetta
The Usual Suspects
The Prestige
The English Patient
Star Wars
The Red Violin
Dark City
American Psycho
Garden State
A Clockwork Orange
Walk the line
Boondock Saints
5th Element
Great Expectations

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Choosing just 1 is impossible. So here are a few, in no particular order:
*Drifting on a kayak in the middle of the bay of islands (New Zealand) and looking at the milky way. Never in my life have I seen so many stars...
*Hiking to the top of Half Dome in Yosemite National Park, USA
*Franz Joseph Glacier, New Zealand
*Hiking the Abel Tasman National Park in New Zealand
*Hearing Tori Amos sing my favourite song in the world (ever) as her very last encore - the only time on that tour she played that song!
*Being invited to a concert 'by some guitar guy' who turned out to be JON GOMM!!

Teach, Learn, Share

I would love to learn some more languages. It would be great if it could be from a native speaker.
I am specifically interested in Spanish, since it was my grandfather's language, but I never knew this until a few years ago.
(I am of German/Belgian/Argentinian/South African descent. Crazy mix;-)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can cook you a mean local dish, or a foreign dish for that matter. I like to eat, hence, I have learned to cook :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Botswana, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Ireland, Italy, Kenya, Mexico, Mozambique, Netherlands, New Zealand, Singapore, Spain, Swaziland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, South Africa, Spain

Old School Badges

  • 2 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Etienne’s full profile.

My Groups