Frank Ferris's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 22 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Frank’s full profile.

Overview

  • 34 references 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Bengali, Bangla, Nepali, Spanish
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Working in Tech
  • International Development at the University of Ottawa
  • From Rosemère, Quebec, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To always go further. Learn new things, meet new people, and see new places. Also working to revolutionize the ethical consumer movement.

ABOUT ME

Born in Toronto, grew up just outside Montréal and have now lived mostly in Ottawa for the past 14 years. My greatest travels have been 3-month internships in both Mali and Nepal, hitchhiking the entire length of Canada, driving 13,000km across the USA, some backpacking through Bangladesh, Nepal and India, and finally a backpacking/hitchhiking trip through Bulgaria, Turkey, Netherlands and Morocco last summer (including a few flights too of course!). In 2015 I worked for 6 months with a small NGO in Paynesville, Liberia where I worked with local entrepreneurs on a variety of cool projects.

I've co-founded a social enterprise that makes ethical consumerism easier for everyone, whether that means supporting Vegan, Fair Trade, Organic, Woman-Owned businesses, or anything else. Check-out www.EthicalTree.com

I also work full-time for the Canadian Government, doing statistical analysis on Canadian foreign aid spending, but despite full-time hours, I consider that one my "side job".

PHILOSOPHY

"All you touch and all you see is all your life will ever be"
-Roger Waters

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I started off surfing around Quebec a while back, then in the summer of 2013 I CouchSurfed Western Canada, and then in Eastern Canada the next summer. In the winter of 2014-15 I couchsurfed with 3 friends on a roadtrip for 3 weeks across the US: Ottawa-->Denver->San Francisco->LA->Las Vegas->New Orleans->NYC. Finally, on my way to Liberia I had a 3 week stopover in Europe so I surfed with hosts in Belgium, Bulgaria, Turkey, Netherlands and Morocco. All AMAZING experiences so far!

Hoping to host a bit more often now that I'll be home in Ottawa and not traveling as much...

Interests

Travel, culture, languages, new people, new things, new experiences, sharing stories, nature, biking, skiing, music, and much more!

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I've expanded my taste quite a bit over the past few years! I used to listen to mostly classic rock (Floyd, Zeppelin, Beatles, Supertramp, Dylan, Young) but now I'll enjoy just about anything other than country. Folk, blues, jazz, reggae and hip hop can all be great at times! Through my travels I've come to hear and enjoy quite a bit of music out of India and West Africa too.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I can proudly say I've hitchhiked across the entire length of Canada! (Albeit in 2 separate trips, and not counting Newfoundland (yet!))! I've also tried freight train hopping, and though it was incredibly exciting and thrilling to do, was only partially successful (ask me about it sometime!)

Teach, Learn, Share

I am bilingual in English and French and know Spanish reasonably well if any of those help you. I also study International Development and love to talk about and share opinions on issues like global poverty, social entrepreneurship and development! If you're interested in hitchhiking I'd be happy to share all the tips I've gathered with you too.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Stories, good company and sometimes (usually) wine.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bangladesh, Belgium, Bulgaria, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, England, Germany, Iceland, India, Italy, Liberia, Mali, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Sierra Leone, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Colombia, Liberia, Mexico, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Frank’s full profile.

My Groups