••• Gabs •••'s Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 5 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see ••• Gabs’s full profile.

Overview

  • 20 references 15 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Portuguese; learning French, Spanish
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2022
  • English Teacher - Digital Nomad - Content Creator
  • Major in English studies and postgraduating degrees in Me...
  • From Marataízes, Espírito Santo, Brazil
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi, my name is Gabriely, but I usually go by Gabs. I'm a Brazilian solo traveler outgoing girl who is passionate about art, music, movies, books, wine and of course: food. Best things in life, aren’t they?

I grew up in a small city in Brazil dreaming about the day I would leave my hometown to explore the world. Lots of things happened along the way: I found out and took pride of my bisexuality, went to university, became an English teacher, started my own digital business, learned new languages, became vegan, among others. Something that hadn't changed at all though was this urge inside me which kept telling me: go travel the world, go out of your comfort zone, meet different people, and now, here I am.

After backpacking in 8 different countries for a whole year in both Europe and South America, I gotta admit: traveling changes you deeply and since I get easily bored of myself, I like to travel as much as I can and meet different cultures, people and of course, the different versions of me that are just out there, waiting for me to find them. I'm not rich though, so I keep working remotely with my online classes and in this way, I combine my two biggest passions in life: teaching and traveling.

--------------------------------------------
Instagram Profile: @fluent.englishh
(I mix English as a second language content with low-cost traveling tips for Brazilians there)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I don't like just going from capital to capital of the countries I visit. That's why I usually tend to stay in one place for longer too. I prioritize quality over quantity. I'd much rather spend more time staying in various cities in the same country to really get to know the place where I am, the culture around me, as well as the locals' lifestyle instead of sightseeing the most touristic places in a bunch of different countries in a short period of time.

Talking and sharing meaningful stories makes traveling a lot more interesting to me. Of course, I love to get around, check some famous spots in the city, take some nice pics, and all that, but having a local to welcome you in their house is the kind of thing I want to tell my kids about when I get older because it's simply much cooler.

Interests

  • books
  • movies
  • chess
  • reading
  • painting
  • music
  • blues
  • karaoke
  • cycling
  • languages
  • art
  • museum
  • bike
  • series
  • veganism
  • frisbee
  • ultimate
  • rollerskating
  • photographs
  • veggie food
  • classic
  • lgbtqi+
  • veganlifestyle
  • languageexchange

Music, Movies, and Books

I consider myself very eclectic: I listen to a lot of indie music, but I'm also into pop, rock, blues, jazz, folk, R and B, rap, Brazilian funk, occasionally samba etc... Literally everything.

However, if I’d have to choose just one band to listen to for the rest of my life, it’d be The Beatles, hands down. And Taylor Swift as well, that blondie is a f*cking genius.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- Read all the Harry Potter books 4 times in 2 different languages;
- Traveled solo for a whole year nonstop while being my own boss;
- Graduated from college by the age of 20;
- Almost got adrift in the Caribbean ocean once in a kayak and had to be rescued on a desert beach (amazingly stupid, I'd say though...)

Teach, Learn, Share

I've always been very curious and I love learning about pretty much everything. Interestingly, the more I know and understand about life, people, and the world, the more I realize how accurate Socrates was when he said “the only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.”

What I Can Share with Hosts

- My fun traveling stories
- Veggie meals
- English tips (if you're not a native speaker and want to improve your English)
- I can also teach you some Portuguese and share with you more about our very rich Brazilian culture
- An entertaining chess match (I've got my own board) or play UNO (also got my own set of cards both of which I bring with me everywhere I go)

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Colombia, England, France, Germany, Netherlands, Peru, Scotland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil

Join Couchsurfing to see ••• Gabs’s full profile.

My Groups