Ivi Kussi's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ivi’s full profile.


  • 53 references 49 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), Dutch, English, French, German, Spanish; learning French, Indonesian, Spanish
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • Student
  • School of life
  • From Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

+++I moved out from groningen now, sorry I cannot host anyone! But I will very soon be able to host you again in Santiago de Chile :)+++

I live on a houseboat (typical for the netherlands), if you’ve always wanted to stay on one.

Born and raised by five parents in Berlin, later lived in China and traveled around the world for a while.
I study International Relations, and Philosophy in groningen.
Love discussing politics, philosophy, intersectional feminism, art, books, queer culture and and travel stories.
When I travel I like to go with the flow, I am more interested in learning about the place through people. I also like to sit in a cafe, people-watch and write. I prefer slow trains over any form of transport. I love to be in nature.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

It's people that make a journey, not places. That's why!
I'd trade any sightseeing for eating street food in some park and exchanging stories. Maybe we can do that together?

During my travels I've met so many people that went from strangers to being close friends even months after, in only a day or two. The kindness of people overwhelmes me and continues to inspire me over and over again.


  • arts
  • culture
  • poetry
  • dancing
  • lgbt rights
  • cooking
  • wine
  • chinese food
  • politics
  • traveling
  • electronic music
  • hiking
  • skiing
  • international relations
  • languages
  • political science
  • mountains
  • food
  • chinese
  • ocean
  • feminism
  • queer
  • museums
  • climbing
  • dreaming
  • europe
  • contemporary dance
  • getting lost
  • iran
  • rainbow gathering
  • eastern europe
  • central asia
  • modern dance

Music, Movies, and Books

I love reading and music a lot. I love listening to Funk, Jazz, Cumbia, Classical music, techno... a lot of different things!
Banana Yoshimoto and Arundhati Roy are two of my favorite authors, I am always up for hearing about yours and getting new ideas what to read next!

Generally, I enjoy all books/movies that take place in a different country/culture, almost to make me travel without changing location.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Been to the worlds highest ATM (in Pakistan)
Kidding of course! It's amazing to be alive, follow my dreams and love people!

Teach, Learn, Share

Share our cultures, discuss differences in our societies, share stories and experiences...
Most importantly share laughs!

I really enjoy cooking together and learning new recipes.

If you like, I could teach you some German, English or Dutch. I'd love to practice my Spanish/Farsi/French.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Overall I am a low maintenance guest: I will be super happy if you have time to spend with me, but I also respect your schedule and know how to make my own way around.
I know how to cook well and would love to prepare a meal for you. And I can bring interesting stories to your home.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, England, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malaysia, Moldova, Montenegro, Myanmar, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Pakistan, Palestine, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Germany, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Ivi’s full profile.

My Groups