Jerry S's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jerry’s full profile.

Overview

  • 33 references 29 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 56, Male
  • Member since 2022
  • Decision Analyst, Marketing Strategist, Creative Director...
  • MS Industrial Engineering; BS Economics
  • From Elmira, NY, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am taking time to learn and explore my newly single 56 year old self! Adventure to places, try new activities while meeting and enjoying time with new and positive people.

My main goals for 2024: (1) prioritize my health and fitness; (2) learn to build a new business; (3) find ways to be creative; and (4) be a positive influence.

I was brought up in a military family so I have moved often in my life. I was born in the finger lakes region of upstate New York and returned several times in my life, but also lived in Michigan, California, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Illinois, Kansas, Missouri, Texas, and Virginia.

I retired from the US Army after 26 years in 2013. I am a father of 2 adult daughters and a son-in-law. I became divorced and sold my home in 2021. I have been traveling full-time since then. I was working full-time from 2014-2023 within the Anti-Money Laundering Compliance and Risk Management space and then in a Chief of Staff role. In February 2023, I decided to stop working and take some time to enjoy life at this age, travel more, achieve new goals and consider a new career. It’s fun to reinvent yourself!

I am researching and learning to create a new consulting business. I plan to help small/medium businesses with Goal and Vision development and Marketing Strategy and Branding. A great way to be creative and mentally active.

Traveling and meeting fellow couch surfers has truly enhanced this experience and developed a new network of friends. So far I have been to all but 1 state in the USA (Alaska). I just recently visited Hawaii, South and North Dakota so it’s been great this year to see three new states.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I sold my home and am now a full time traveler using a small SUV. I have totally enjoyed the experience I've had with couch-surfers so far. It's much more interesting to stay with couch-surfers than it is to stay in a place by myself. When not with couch-surfers, I stay in airbnbs, misterb&b, cabins, tents, hammocks or hotels... making it across the US and around the world to experience new relationships, see fun places, visit family, study/read and grow. This has been a great phase of my life. I fly occasionally to be sure to see friends and family for key events in their lives.

I spent 4 weeks in Europe in August 2023. I cruised to Mexico in October. I flew to Singapore and cruised to Thailand in November. I then stayed in Thailand 4 wks, Bali 3 wks, New Zealand 3 wks, Australia 6wks, and Hawaii 2wks. I and am now back to the continental USA as of April 2024.

Interests

  • arts
  • fitness
  • boating
  • flowers
  • live music
  • country music
  • jazz
  • hiking
  • camping
  • sailing
  • tennis
  • swimming
  • mathematics
  • naturism
  • cleaning
  • scrabble
  • skinny dipping
  • weightlifting
  • bonfires
  • country dancing
  • rodeo
  • nude beaches
  • carpentry
  • bossa nova
  • landscaping
  • euchre
  • remodeling
  • cornhole
  • dominoes
  • cooking together
  • flower arrangement
  • horseshoes
  • cattle drive
  • ranch hand

Music, Movies, and Books

Old and current Country music is at my core. I grew up with it. I love Jazz, big band, latin, pop, EDM, blues, bluegrass, alternative rock, christian, classical and really open to experience new music.

I love to read non-fiction, personal and professional development books, math books, Business books, 'biographies of older people' and anything witty!

I prefer watching psychological thrillers, witty, and smart movies. I enjoy any movie where I am taken through a variety of emotions. I don't mind crying. I also enjoy action, and military type movies.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Won a "Twister" competition with over 2,000 students while in college. I guess I was flexible and balanced...

Teach, Learn, Share

I have owned 2 homes over 28 years so I am knowledgeable on home repairs and remodeling efforts. I am also a great organizer enjoy cleaning-out stuff/letting go of the unnecessary clutter. Don’t mind helping if time is available. I can tutor most math subjects and how to build spreadsheets. We can discuss your business and brainstorm creative ideas! I can teach country, salsa and some ballroom dancing! 🤠

What I Can Share with Hosts

Energetic personality, great traveling stories, Army stories, leadership guidance, dance lessons, weapons training, fitness advice, event planning ideas, great at cleaning and organizing, cook a variety of things, bourbon advice, math tutoring and spreadsheet help. I can also teach you to play Euchre, Texas 42, or horseshoes...🤓

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Cambodia, Canada, England, France, Germany, Greece, Iraq, Italy, Kuwait, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Iraq, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jerry’s full profile.