James Layne's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see James’s full profile.

Overview

  • 2 references 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Latin, Spanish
  • 48, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Attorney
  • J.D.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Friendly, open and helpful guy. I’m an attorney, but have tons of interests from politics to art and culture. I’m more of a type B personality, which can be odd for a lawyer. I’m easy to get along with and laid back/fun. I've used this site for awhile, but only recently started looking at it as a serious way to meet people and explore new places. So even though I'm not yet verified (because I want to see how good the site is first), I'm happy to prove to you who I am before I stay with you.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Seeing what it's all about and hopefully make someone's visit to the area a little easier. Also meeting people and making my life easier on travels. I believe we should help each other out when we can!

Interests

  • arts
  • writing
  • literature
  • poetry
  • concerts
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • cocktails
  • coffee
  • exercise
  • politics
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • jazz
  • opera
  • history
  • law
  • philosophy
  • religion
  • road trips
  • food
  • biking
  • outdoors
  • rollercoasters
  • herbalism

Music, Movies, and Books

Love a good comedy or a horror movie, love most kinds of music (especially jazz influenced vocal music like Armstrong, Sinatra, Fitzgerald..), many types of books as well. My favorite is the Brothers K. Have you heard the Cheek to Cheek album with Tony Bennett and Lady Gaga? Just recently discovered it, and I'm in love!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Was in Austria for the funeral of the last of the Hapsburg empire. I was also the lawyer for a United States Senator (find out who when we meet, or look up my LinkedIn!) Okay, sorry, that was two! 😬 (Hopefully that’s as good as being verified, because I don’t want to pay $60!)

Teach, Learn, Share

Enjoy learning about other cultures and other ways of thinking! That's what expands our minds and makes us better.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Sometimes, just sharing our stories is a great thing. I think my journey has been interesting, and I love sharing that as well as sharing a friendly ear to listen to your stories. I also love to cook, so tell me what you like and hand me a recipe, and I'm happy to make it for you! Will even do the dishes. I enjoy hanging out and experiencing new people (including the gracious host) as much as exploring the city, and maybe we could even explore it together.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, England, France, Italy, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see James’s full profile.