James Wilson's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see James’s full profile.

Overview

  • 609 references 565 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 46, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • I am an agile project manager / scrum master for a bank.
  • My background is in Computing, but now work as a Scrum Ma...
  • From Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

#1 host in Scotland and just become #2 in the UK aiming to be #1..

Like to meet new people from all over the world. So far so good, I like to offer to host people from countries I haven't hosted before. I like the challenge of trying to populate my world map. 😊.

Happy to be friends with surfers on here, but will only accept friend requests from those that i have already made a connection with, e.g. after they've stayed with me. You can also find me on instagram: Sc0ttishb0y4.

ABOUT ME

I'm a gay Scotsman who lives in Edinburgh. I've been seeing a guy, Philip, from Glasgow since December 2016; he now lives with me.

I like to think I'm a fairly easy-going person and always keen to meet new people. I have a lot of foreign friends and take an interest in their culture and backgrounds.

We try to recycle as much as we can, please respect this. if you're unsure of where something goes, just ask.

I'm happy to host new surfers, as I appreciate that everyone has to start somewhere, I once was where you are now. 😊

** disclaimer**
We have *five (number can vary 🤣) dogs at the moment. They are Parson Russell Terrier (Elka), Jack Russell Terriers (Athena, Hendrick and Suri) and a Border Terrier (Niamh). If you're not a dog lover, then I'm perhaps not the right host for you.

PHILOSOPHY

Enjoy yourself whilst you can and make the most of life.

Life isn't a dress rehearsal, this is the actual act.

Treat others the way you wish to be treated.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosting:
I like to meet new people and am happy to meet for a drink/chat and show people round Edinburgh or even just recommend places to go, either tourist attractions or somewhere nice for food, etc.

I've had nothing but positive experiences through CS. I sometimes get left little notes from surfers and have recently made a scrapbook to hold these as a memento of the experiences I have had. :-).

A couple of surfers have sent me postcards from other places they have visited too. That's a nice touch to know that you've made an impression on someone. :-).

Whilst it's nice of CS guests to offer to cook for us, we are often out in the evenings, going to the cinema or concerts, etc. I don't expect anyone to cook for me so don't be offended if the opportunity doesn't arise. The thought is there even just to offer.

Equally, it's not expected, but if you wish to bring gifts from your country, wine and chocolate always go down a treat with us. We drink red wine, We're more likely to enjoy a drink with you over food (if the time permits).

More randomly I collect magnets from cities/countries I have visited. There will be a few places that I have missed along the way and am trying to catch up on those, check with me if you intend to bring one.

Surfing:
I'm not known for being a good cook. Therefore, time permitting, we will likely take our hosts our for dinner or a couple of beers/bottles of wine to show our gratitude.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have slowly been building up a good reputation as a host. Don't have a lot experience as a surfer though, it's not from the desire to try, i've just been unlucky I'd trying to find hosts, any help would be appreciated.

My next goal is to embrace surfing more.

Our week long trip to Spain in July 18 was our first time we'd been hosted soley by several CS hosts; we really had a great time doing this and made some new friends along the way.

Interests

I play badminton with an LGBT club (Edinburgh Racqueteers) on a Thursday evening at a local Sports Centre between 7-9pm., it's best that we work around this as i play every week. If you are a good badminton player and would wish to play with us, you are more than welcome to do so. Recently i had a surfer play with my club and they had a good time.

I like to cycle and on occasion have let a surfer use my bike. I sometimes go running outside when the weather is fair and run with an LGBT running club (Edinburgh Frontrunners), normally on a Saturday morning at 10am. Again if you are into running you are more than welcome to join us.

I use Whatsapp - I would strongly recommend that you use this app too. They're great for communicating especially if I have more than 1 surfer at a time, plus I can send my location on there too which pin points the approximate location of my house.

  • running
  • cycling
  • badminton
  • music concerts
  • independent cinema
  • going to the cinema

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies - Into most genres, Marvel, Comedies and Thrillers, bit of a mixture really.

Music - Like to go to concerts and have quite an ecclectic taste, have been to Wireless Festival in London, Love Praha in Praque, Open'er in Poland and Sonar in Barcelona.

Books - i like Stephen King, John Grisham, James Patterson, Charlaine Harris, etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I like to try different things: Sky Dive, Abseil, White Water Rafting, Parasailing, Paragliding, etc.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Scotland

Join Couchsurfing to see James’s full profile.

My Groups