Jason Straussman's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jason’s full profile.


  • 14 references 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Social Worker
  • Masters of Social Work; Masters of Divinity
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey, my name is Jason and I love traveling and meeting new people. I just moved to Berkeley to work as a social worker.

I love music, playing music, listening to music, and just jamming with people. I love reading literature and fiction. I really am just trying to live life, meet people, and enjoy every moment!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I like couch surfing, because I think it is a great way to meet new people. I love staying with locals and getting a different perspective on cities. For me, unless you have stayed with someone who lives in a city, you don't really get to know the city in the same way. I love the new experiences and all the wonderful people I have met on couch surfing.


I really enjoy cooking right now:) Vegetarian food and vegan food and trying to be as DIY as possible. I love to camp and hike and be outside as much as possible.

  • books
  • literature
  • music festivals
  • humanitarian relief
  • traveling
  • music
  • classical music
  • solo travel
  • comic books
  • relationship
  • non-profits

Music, Movies, and Books

Mostly listen to hip-hop/R&B, but a deep love for jazz & blues

Finding Neverland, Moulin Rouge, Lord of the Rings, Hunchback of Notre Dame

Brother's Karamazov, Cloud Atlas, the harry potter series, the Lord of the Rings series, and Ender's Game series.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have hiked the Camino de Santiago. It was a 500 mile walk from France to Santiago Spain. This was probably my favorite experience and taught me so much about life!

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to teach people how to play music! If anyone is interested lets jam out and we can show each other some new stuff :) I love to learn through people about different things I would never encounter. I'm ferociously curious so whether you are an accountant or a freegan (or both) I can't wait to learn more about life through you. I can share my passion for cooking and for books and hiking.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love to teach music if you have any instruments:) I can cook some vegetarian dishes from Ecuador and Peru. I also worked 2 years construction if you need help around the house or with a project. I can share my story, deep gratitude, and willingness to get to know someone new.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Belize, Ecuador, England, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Jamaica, Malaysia, Mexico, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Scotland, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Indonesia, Scotland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jason’s full profile.

My Groups