Jelger Staal's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 13 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jelger’s full profile.

Overview

  • 68 references 58 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, German; learning Chinese (Simplified)
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Social Worker. Radio Host. Musician. Bartender. Bars. The...
  • University of Groningen, History
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi earthling! After +100 Couchsurfing experiences I do have the following guidelines you need to read first.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1 - Chances are very very SMALL you can stay with me if you ask ONE DAY IN ADVANCE. A week time in between is the most convenient!

2 - When getting in touch with me: please don't make proposals you can't confirm. I had a few occurences where people promised a date of arrival but ultimately didn't show up at all or stopped messaging. Couchsurfing is free but it's NOT non-committal. Understand that I alter my schedule for you in order for you to come.

3 - Oh, and..I like to talk. The few disappointing experiences I had with CS were with timid people. I am spontaneous and pretty straight forward. If you are insecure about interacting with other people I might not be the host you are looking for. I don't exclude subdued and shy characters from my life but life is much easier if you actively try to know each other.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A self portrait:

Open, sensitive, reflective, highly energetic- chaotic at times - as well as calm, romantic. My brother calls me an extraverted introvert. It’s a sticker that stuck. Busy embracing the seemingly contradictory aspects of my personality, sadness, happiness, being in the moment, rumination. I also love to clown and be down to earth but carry a contemplative and spiritual side as well. I love this mixture in other people too, the blend of humor and deep thought, the ability to reflect on life and all of its' kaleidoscopic manifestations while still being able to draw pure joy from a butterfly landing on your nose. Or one of your pinkies. Live light and the weight of life will be a blessing.

I live in a small house on the outskirts of Groningen city. If you want to rent my bike be my (cycling) guest! You will sleep on a (very cozy) couch in my colourful living room, unless you bring your own mat/airbed, which you can use in a private room.

It’s essential to know that my couch used to be my parents’ and that in its existence numerous sacred beings blessed it with their presence, many of them cats and dogs. It is said that sleeping on this couch can cause dreams in which you chase your own tail or have nocturnal pursuits over moonlit rooftops!

For my pesetas i work with mentally disabled people in a restaurant/daycare. I also DJ, work as a city guide and love to draw. For years I worked in various restaurants. I proudly can say now that I can cook, which is a real gain coming from eating too many shitty microwave meals in my early twenties. My cooking is elevated currently by having a lovely Chinese girlfriend.

I am all into exploring life, music, drawing, history, friendships, helping people, poetry, reading, writing ,(watching) sports and feeling the soft touch of my surfable couch.

Some of the music and mixes that I make you can listen to by clicking on the links below:

https://soundcloud.com/jelgerstaal
https://www.mixcloud.com/thefindmag/stay-hungry-4/

https://mixcloud.com/doowutyalike (Radioshow that i used to host)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To get to know you and me better. Give you a warm and inviting house to relax in. Guide you around my town if me and you have the time.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Couchsurfing has made a huge positive impact on my life.

Also have been to India in 2023 after being invited through my Indian Couchsurfing friend. In India I had a truly unforgettable time thanks again to some lovely cs’ers. Couchsurfing affirms again and again that there are so many lovely humans in this weird world!

Interests

Music, people, nature, cooking, sports, dancing, meditation, music, music, music!

Dislike:

. some popular music can give me a physical reaction of revulsion.
. distrust, arrogance, keeping up appearances.

  • pets
  • cats
  • writing
  • singing
  • acting
  • dancing
  • dining
  • meditation
  • movies
  • traveling
  • watching sports
  • music
  • jazz
  • sports
  • basketball
  • astronomy
  • teaching
  • history
  • tourism
  • djing
  • rapping

Music, Movies, and Books

I love wrestling. If you want to i can elaborate on why watching men and women doing choreographed fights can be a real delight.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Learned to love the person i once hated the most.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to write rap and bust freestyles yo. Also treat you to some quirky dancemoves if the moon has moved in the right position.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A slice of life, bon apetit!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Italy, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Slovenia, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Indonesia, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Jelger’s full profile.