Johanna Myllyniemi's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Johanna’s full profile.


  • 14 references 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Finnish; learning Estonian, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Bachelor of Natural Resources
  • Environmental Science / Development and International Coo...
  • From Southern Ostrobothnia / Pori
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am usually a calm and joyful person, who loves to explore faraway countries and any kind of nature near and far, to photograph abandoned houses among other things and cook tasty and healthy vegetarian food. I try to make my days happy, trust my intuition and listen to my heart instead of fears. I am trying to find little spontaneous adventures in each day, and sometimes bigger ones too.

I am curious for seeing every corner of this planet, especially the ones still in their natural shape. I have a thing about mountains and I dream about a self-sustained life in the countryside of Portugal or somewhere surrounded by mountains and forests.

Life is mostly beautiful and it is important to spread love, awareness and responsible action. I want to contribute in making this world a better place for all, and thus my dream job would be done in environmental development projects all over the world.

As a Finn I may seem a bit quiet at times but that's just my nature, not a sign for being uncomfortable. I am usually in a good mood.

I love the philosophy of the Moomins:

"All things are so very uncertain, and that's exactly what makes me feel reassured." - Tove Jansson

"Back to the nature. We live only once. Damn the obligations!" - Moominpapa

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I always prefer staying with locals rather than in hostels. It is just so much nicer to meet new people and share thoughts with them, and their homes are much cozier to sleep in than hostels. They are the experts of their local area so they have the best tips about what to see and experience there as well.

All of my surfing experiences have been positive, and that's also the reason why I want to share my home with surfers. I want to give all that hospitality and help I have received back to the world in some way.


Travelling, nature, hiking, outdoor activities, photographing, gardening & farming, adventures, mountains, camping, cycling, urban exploration, yoga, environment, development cooperation, volunteering in NGO's, vegetarian cooking & baking, gathering wild herbs, berries and mushrooms, sustainable lifestyle, inspiring books and movies, good beers, meeting people, handicrafts & diy stuff, smoothies, scuba diving, bicycle touring, hitchhiking, roadtrips, listening & playing music, dancing...

  • books
  • diy
  • dancing
  • environment
  • dining
  • cooking
  • beer
  • baking
  • vegetarian
  • yoga
  • gardening
  • movies
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • mountaineering
  • scuba diving
  • trail running
  • rock climbing
  • hitchhiking
  • volunteering
  • budget travel
  • mountains
  • urban exploration
  • travel
  • sustainability

Music, Movies, and Books

I like many different kinds of music: folk, world music, singer&songwriter music, progressive/psychedelic rock, pop, ska, reggae, punk, classic & heavy rock, nu-metal, electronic ambient & psytrance...

My all time favourite movies include Hayao Miyazaki's anime films, Into the Wild, Amélie, Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind, Frida, Wild, Tjenare Kungen, Good bye Lenin!, Moomins and the Comet Chase and good documentaries. However I can watch almost anything, except horror!

I love books by Paulo Coelho, Lord of The Rings -trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien, Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer, The Dharma Bums by Jack Kerouac, Naive. Super by Erlend Loe, Wild by Cheryl Strayed, Punainen erokirja by Pirkko Saisio and many other books. Right now I am reading more scientific stuff than novels.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hiking through primary rain forest in Costa Rica, seeing wild horses in Latvia, climbing mountains, camping in the Zambian wilderness with lion footprints in the camp, doing a hitchhiking trip through Europe and back, and finding my soulmate.

Teach, Learn, Share

Things I could teach you include Finnish cooking, basics of photographing, languages that I speak, things about environment and sustainability...

I am ready to share my home, the city I live in and the beautiful nature surrounding it.

I always like learning new ways of thinking, and being inspired by people and their stories. Life is for that!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, El Salvador, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, India, Latvia, Lithuania, Mexico, Nicaragua, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Tanzania, Thailand, United Kingdom, Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Czech Republic, Estonia, Portugal, Zambia

Join Couchsurfing to see Johanna’s full profile.