Jonathan Dinsmore's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonathan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 2 references 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2023
  • Remote Worker and Social Science Researcher
  • MSc in Psychological Science
  • From Fort Smith, AR, USA
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

What's up fellow travelers, I'm Jonathan, recently had to sit still for a while to do my MSc in psychological science, but I'm free again now (at least until I get into a PhD program)! I work remotely and I've always been a bit of a rambler, I was full-time house-sitting and digital nomading in Costa Rica, Western Europe, and then Colorado before covid hit, and before that, I frequently lived in different places around the States, worked seasonal jobs, and stuff like that. I'm a pretty mellow (though adventurous) guy, somewhat cerebral and spiritual, with a very easygoing and pleasant demeanor. I tend to see the humor in life and not take things too seriously; I mean, we're on a ball floating in space, right? I enjoy anything with good company, such as getting out in nature, checking out museums, art, concerts, cuisine, and most of all just going on adventures and making the most of life!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm mainly here to find interesting people to meet up with as I travel, although I may occasionally surf a couch as well. The community of travelers is generally a cool group, very open-minded and fun, and so it's a great population to sample from for new connections.

Interests

  • cooking
  • meditation
  • classical music
  • electronic music
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • skiing
  • philosophy
  • psychology
  • travel
  • nature
  • spirituality
  • love
  • consciousness
  • psychedelics
  • bluegrass
  • fractals
  • hammocking
  • other cultures
  • nonduality
  • synthwave
  • downtempo

Music, Movies, and Books

Recently I've been really enjoying an exegesis of a text on non-dual Tantric philosophy, The Recognition Sutras. Musically, listening to a lot of downtempo electronica and synthwave, something about the nostalgia of that 80s aesthetic 🤌

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Most recently, interviewing people who have had mystical light experiences for my research. Listening to those experiences was a spiritual experience in itself! Also living nomadically has been pretty rad.

Teach, Learn, Share

Oh gosh, I definitely know some things. Given my stated interests above, you can probably guess :) I'm interested in learning about other cultures, improving my Spanish and picking up some other languages, maybe how to do some new outdoor activities, like I randomly tried out sandboarding with a new traveler friend one time, things like that. Oh and permaculture seems cool, would be neat to learn about that.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Tips on travel, meditation, psychedelics, spiritual stuff, probably a lot of other things, and of course good company and good times!

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Scotland, Spain, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Costa Rica, England, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonathan’s full profile.