Julian Smith's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 63% response rate
  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julian’s full profile.


  • 146 references 113 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Spanish
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • Independent Data Scientist
  • Ph.D. in physics. Travelling
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


I'm quite relaxed and flexible. I offer space for you to be yourself without much external pressure. I love to spend time with csers when I can but sometimes am busy. If you're looking for a tour guide I'm probably not the right host for you!


Supporting old and new friends. Balancing being grounded and adventure.


I am easy going, adventurous, fun loving, and a little silly. I simply love traveling and to be surprised. Honesty is very important to me and I respect it greatly when I see it in others. I can be a little indecisive sometimes but enjoy not knowing what's happening next and being able move on quickly and lightly.

I moved to Seattle in part to advocate for myself in my relationships. I’m polyamorous and am excited to have found a community here that supports me in that. I’m always happy to talk about my experience and would love to meet more people in the lifestyle.


love, respect, and learn.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I host mostly now


Quite a bit of surfing and hosting since 2007


I love walking, traveling (hitchhiking is the preferred method), learning anything, teaching what I can, playing games, snowboarding, skiing, breathing, juggling, acroyoga, slacklining, river rafting, mountain biking, water, watching movies, dancing and to be as a child with the insight of someone with a few more years.

  • dogs
  • dancing
  • swing dancing
  • cooking
  • walking
  • movies
  • board games
  • traveling
  • juggling
  • hiking
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • physics
  • hitchhiking
  • mountain biking
  • climbing
  • acroyoga

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Life is Beautiful sums me up pretty well. Also Waking life, American Beauty, In Bruge, Adaptation... Books: I love non-fiction. 'Far From the Tree', 'Lost Connections', 'Utopia for realists', and 'How not to Die' are all books that have spurred lasting interest in some exciting areas. I've been on a basic income and nutrition kick for the last months.
Music: I love so much and I never remember the names of anything. I guess I have two modes that encompass much, dancing and being. Actually those categories meld together with certain things also... I guess I like energy and silly for dancing, thoughtful or smooth for being.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The 3 sisters traverse in sandals. All in all, 3 peaks (North, Middle, & South Sister), 20 miles, 9,800 ft gained (and lost) in under 24 hours. Recently also did Mount Olympus in sandals.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: English, Math, Physics, Juggling, Slacklining, Swing Dancing, Acroyoga.
Learn: Languages, Math, Physics, Programming, Juggling, Acroyoga, Slacklining, Dancing, Cooking...
Share: My beautiful new home, smiles, laughter, hugs, cooking, experiences, stories...

What I Can Share with Hosts

Joy, laughter, conversations, a shared meal, dancing, and many more things!

What Csers Can Share With Me:

If I were living my rich life there are some areas where I'd splurge. Money is just a tool to live a life you want though, often friends (new and old) can give us much of the support we need.

Here's a list of things that I'd love more of in my life.
*) Random morsels of food given to me throughout the day (preference for vegan/vegetarian)
*) Help training/exercising my dog Obi.
*) Help keeping my large space clean.
*) Help with projects
*) Musical or artistic expression being shared with the home.
*) Surprises

Everything is appreciated! Nothing is required!

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Austria, Bolivia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Mexico, Montenegro, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, Slovenia, South Africa, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • 9 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Julian’s full profile.

My Groups