Lee Sailer's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 94% response rate
  • Last login about 11 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lee’s full profile.


  • 95 references 87 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Spanish
  • 75, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Thinker, retired
  • A lot. Like, really a lot. More than enough.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Have a good time, meet some people, make the world better


Older guy, young at heart, talkative, easy-going, mostly happy, live alone, dancing through life. Trying to figure out what to do when I grow up.


The sooner we make the first 5,000 mistakes, the sooner we improve. Things are the way they are because they got that way. It is better to understand than it is to be right.

If you read my references, you will see frequent mentions of tango. NOT TV or Stage tango. Social tango, as danced by people who seem to get addicted to it. Here's a sample youtube video:


Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I am here because I like to meet new people, talk about anything, give support to people who are on adventures.

Mostly I host. I have a spare bedroom with a bed for two people, but also ample floor space for emergencies. Sheets and towels if you need them. Use of the kitchen. Washer and dryer. Sit around the living room, etc etc etc.

I prefer two to five days. Can't do more than five, will do one nighters if you have a good story 8-)

I live in Portland Oregon just north of Mt Tabor park. Google it. Very close by access to bus route 15, 19, and 20, which then connects to everything else.


Lots of people have stayed with me, and I have enjoyed every minute. So have they, I think. Some want to hang out, some go off in the morning and come back late at night. I'm good either way.

I have only tried surfing a few times. Sometimes it has worked, and sometimes not. No bad experiences, though.


I am old, and I have learned a lot. I've been a student all my life.

  • tango
  • magic
  • soccer
  • history
  • philosophy
  • science
  • ukulele
  • math
  • calcio

Music, Movies, and Books

Everything. Show me something I don't know.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have three amazing adult children.

Teach, Learn, Share

Tango, old style banjo, sleight of hand, ukulele.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Mexico, Netherlands

Countries I’ve Lived In

Mexico, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Lee’s full profile.

My Groups