Mahadevan Anantharaman's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 12 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mahadevan’s full profile.


  • 92 references 36 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English, Hindi, Marathi (Marāṭhī), Tamil
  • 45, Male
  • Member since 2005
  • Student, Teacher, Engineer, Chinese Translator
  • University.. and then some more...
  • From Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Currently, I'm doing a coast to coast walk across the Indian peninsula along the Kaveri river. I started on 28th Jan 2022 from the Arabian sea at Kanhangad, Kerala and I plan to walk to the Bay of Bengal. If you live along/close to the Kaveri river, and would like to meet or host, do send a message.

28th Jan to 1st Feb.
In the first stage, I'll walk from Kanhangad to Tala Kaveri

After living for almost 7 years in various places in mainland China, I moved my base back to India in mid-2014. I am a freelance consultant, translator and interpreter. My work is pretty flexible and gives me plenty of time to pursue my hobbies.

Travel, along with learning about different cultures and languages has been my biggest passion.

Some words that describe me:

Easy going
Open minded
Cherishes life

Want to know more? Read the references my friends left for me. :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To meet some really wonderful people and to taste the diversity of mother Earth.



29. Sammy from France (at Navi Mumbai)
28. Amr from Egypt (at Navi Mumbai)
27. Nikhil and Fazl from India (at Navi Mumbai)
26. Rocky from China (at Huai'an)
25. Guru from India (at Huai'an)
24. Adeline and Marc from France (at Handan)
23. Michelle from China (at Handan)
22. Marvin from China (at Handan)
21. Benson from China (at Shanghai)
20. Vigh from Malaysia (at Chennai)
19. Michael and Vanessa from Canada (at Chennai)
18. Srini from India (at Chennai)
17. Krystle from the US (at Chennai)
16. Pooran from India (at Chennai)
15. Jessie from New Zealand (at Chennai)
14. Ivano from Italy (at Chennai)
13. Daniel from Canada (at Chennai)
12. Ludovic from France (at Chennai)
11. Cat from Canada (at Chennai and Kerala)
10. Walter from Italy (at Chennai)
9. Fabian from Austria (at Chennai)
8. Valentin from Spain (at Chennai)
7. Zack and Madeliene from the US (at Chennai)
6. Raul from Romania (at Chennai)
5. Daniela from Germany (at Chennai)
4. John from the US (at Chennai)
3. Nicolaas from New Zealand (at Chennai)
2. Vivek from India (at Chennai)
1. Basant from India (at Chennai)


22. Yanek Blaszczyk at Melbourne, Australia
21. Grahame Nunns at Croydon, Australia
20. Bill Peterson at Seaford, Australia
19. Wang Yanhui at Hebei, China
18. Zhang Zhanguo at Hebei, China
17. Guo Sujiang at Guangzhou, China
16. Lin Mu and Xiong Simin at Guangzhou, China
15. Sidharth at Hong Kong, China
14. Samuel at Nairobi, Kenya
13. Samson at Bujumbura, Burundi
12. Alain at Beijing, China
11. Benson at Nanjing, Jiangsu, China
10. Ron at Shanghai, China
9. Rushir and Dhara at Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
8. Mustak at Jamnagar, Gujarat, India
7. Bittoo at Jamnagar, Gujarat, India
6. Stephen and Alan at Negombo, Sri Lanka
5. Marlon at Colombo, Sri Lanka
4. Sanjay at Bhubaneshwar,Orissa, India
3. Binoy at Kurianoor, Kerala, India
2. Francois at Kathmandu/Palpa, Nepal and Delhi
1. Raghu at Trichur, Kerala, India (HC)


Languages and people are my biggest interests. I spend most of my travel time reaching out and meeting people.

I love swimming and long walks/treks. I also have an avid interest in Yoga and Indian philosophy and spirituality esp. Advaita Vedanta.

  • traveling
  • socializing
  • swimming
  • teaching
  • history
  • languages
  • mountains
  • minimalist
  • advaita

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Carnatic music and whatever sounds good.

Books: Geopolitics and International Affairs of South Asia and the Far East

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Just pick one....

Fed wasabi flavored chick peas to an orphaned kangaroo at an animal orphanage in Coober Pedy.

Traveled for more than 40 days through 5 countries in East Africa with a Japanese guy whom I met on a Kampala street. We continue to remain good friends and meet every other year.

The duck barbecue at Pyongyang; Traveling with the North Korean football B team on the same train coach from Dandong to Pyongyang. The first time I heard a non-Indian sing the Indian national anthem was by the team's Hindi interpreter.

Experienced winter, spring, summer and autumn all in one day at the mountains near Yushu in Qinghai province.

Cycled more than 80 km from Shexian to Wu'an with just one stop in between.

While trekking the Western Ghats in India, I inadvertently slept overnight on what looked like a stone platform beside a pathway. Morning revealed that the platform was an embankment built to prevent trekkers from tumbling down a precipice.

Trekked up Sri Pada (Adam's peak) in Sri Lanka up the long way from Ratnapura.

Camped 2 days and nights at the Jamnagar Marine Natural Park during Minus Tide. Ate freshly cooked Gujarati food on an uninhabited island.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: Used to teach spoken English and IELTS in China.

1. Trivia on history of various places.
2. Stories from Hindu mythology. Stories from China, Chinese history
3. India - its religions, practices, people, diversity, cultures, nature, seasons, places, etc.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Stories of travel and life.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Burundi, China, Hong Kong, India, Kenya, Nepal, North Korea, Rwanda, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Thailand, Uganda, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, India

Old School Badges

  • 21 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Mahadevan’s full profile.

My Groups