Margaret Eby's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Margaret’s full profile.


  • 4 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Russian, Spanish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Grad student
  • Bogazici, NYU, Berkeley
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a PhD student in Sociology, from Minnesota but living between New York and California for the last few years. Some of my favorite travel experiences have been hitchhiking in Turkey, working on a farm in Northeast Germany through WWOOF, and road tripping through Malaysia. I'm the oldest of a big family and have had dogs, cats, fish, frogs, guinea pigs, and a snake as pets.

When I'm hosting I might not always have time to show guests around because of my busy schedule, but I might have time in the evenings to share tips or catch up. When I'm surfing I love to get local recommendations, particularly if you have a local yarn shop in the area :)


I love the news- mostly reading the newspaper or listening to the radio. I knit and spin my own wool, and I'm happy to teach hosts or surfers!

  • news
  • reading
  • knitting
  • hiking
  • canoeing

Music, Movies, and Books

My favorite book of is The Discovery of Heaven by Harry Mulisch, but anything he's written is excellent. Other favorites include Harry Potter, any historical nonfiction, and graphic novels (Enki Bilal, Neil Gaiman, etc.) I watch a lot of sci-fi and action movies, but my favorites are probably Star Wars (even the prequels!) and Sunshine.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Cambodia, Canada, France, Georgia, Ghana, Iceland, Malaysia, Mexico, Poland, Russian Federation, Scotland, Spain, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Ghana, Iceland, Turkey, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Margaret’s full profile.