Martin Vidlicka's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 78% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Martin’s full profile.


  • 172 references 135 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Czech, English, Slovak, Spanish; learning German, Russian
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • I work as a doctor in the neurosurgery department.
  • completed med school and not planning anything anymore now
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

A man has two lives. The second one starts once you realize that you only have one.

Society grows great when good men plant trees, the shade of which they will never sit in.


I work as a neurosurgeon in a faculty hospital. My schedule sucks and I work usually 6-7 24h to 36h shifts per month so my time is very limited and it is likely we will only meet over dinner at my place or for short walk during your stay.

But I am looking forward to any guests and welcome them as best friends at my apartment.

I find it hard to describe myself without sounding too self-centered 😀
But I have realized that traveling and meeting other people actually helps me define myself much clearly. I used to have no idea what to say about myself but observing others I have figured out what similarities I have with people and where we tend to differ.

I will only say this - I want to see more kindness in this world, and couchsurfing is exactly the place to start looking for it.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I want to make friends all over the world and be in touch with different cultures. It has helped me to grow so much since I started CSurfing as a person and I want to see more of it. It's really pushed me to become a new version of myself and every trip I take, no matter how short or long or intense, it always leaves a footprint in the fabric of who I am. I would 100% say that the best part is meeting people though. Many of the countries and places I only remember thanks to the people I have met there. I also want to give back and share the spirit forward and host people.


My most prominent hobby is traveling. While I do, I really enjoy hiking and photography. Also I like to cook for my host something traditional.

  • arts
  • poetry
  • photography
  • movies
  • video games
  • traveling
  • music
  • piano
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

I like classical music, pop music, rock. It's hard to find something I wouldn't like 😀.

As for books I have mostly been reading medical books recently but hopefully I will have more time to explore new areas soon.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I broke into Chichen Itza, one of the seven wonders of the world during COVID pandemic because I really wanted to see it after travelling across the planet to do so.
UPDATE: broke in the same place second time in May 2021

I have seen a volcano erupting in Volcán de Fuego.

I have done diving in Galapagos.

I have persuaded my stubborn 76 years old grandmother to visit Petra in Jordan and she hiked all the way to Al Deir, she also rode a camel. Believe it's as much of an achievement for me as it was for her hahaha.

I have hiked solo 3 days 90 km in Guatemala jungle to see El Mirador one of the biggest temples of the ancient world.

I have visited the unique Cano Cristales of Colombia and I was absolutely amazed!

Teach, Learn, Share

Bad words in my language, foods, amazing music from Czech composers, medical things about your body if you are interested, how to suture wounds ... whatever :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can offer meaningful conversation, not just about my country but about my perspective of the world and my travel stories from it.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Cambodia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Palestine, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Czech Republic, Slovakia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Martin’s full profile.

My Groups