Photos de Merle Barthel

Profil vérifié

  • Membre vérifié par paiement
  • Numéro de téléphone vérifié
  • Pièce d'identité vérifiée

Souhaite faire des rencontres

  • Dernière connexion il y a 26 jours

Rejoignez Couchsurfing pour consulter l'intégralité du profil de Merle.

Présentation

  • 17 avis 12 Confirmé et positif
  • Parle couramment  Dutch, English, German; apprend  Sign Language - British, Spanish
  • 27, Femme
  • Membre depuis 2016
  • Matrose (Sailor) / Übersetzer (Translator)
  • Fremdsprachenkorrespondentin (multilingual adm. assistant)
  • Aucune ville natale indiquée
  • Profil renseigné à 100 %

À propos de moi

I'm a 26 year old open minded person who loves to meet other cultures no matter what you might heard in the media or wherever about them. Also love to have deep conversations. The exchange between people and maybe even learning more about a topic, widening their or my horizon is something I appreciate in life since you never stop to evolve.

I'm from Germany, Hanover.
Since a few years I've been working as a sailor on several ships at the Brown Fleet in the Netherlands, where I also spent most of my time.
For the reason of my other apprenticeship and because I love languages I can speak:
German, English and Dutch (fluent), bit of French, bit of Spanish (better in writing) .

I'm really passionate about the outdoors and nature in general. Also love to be active and to try out new stuff.
Playing the piano as well as singing has always been a part of me and atm I'm relearning it since I inherited my grandpa's.
I adore animals and I do have a dog by myself.

Because I think it's kinda hard to write something about yourself, I asked my family and friends how they'd describe me:
Courteous, friendly but direct, open minded, nature-obsessed, animal lover, travel obsession, helpful and cooperative, chatty, generous as well as empathetic and funny.

I've started traveling by myself pretty early. My first adventure was in 2012 with 15 years abroad as an exchange student in Australia for 8 months. Luckily I gained a scholarship otherwise it would have been impossible to afford it.
After that I couldn't stop traveling, went on to Amsterdam, Barcelona, Denmark, Montargis, Singapore, Scotland and lots more.
But my heart is still in Australia, so I returned (after saving up for ages) in 2015 for 8 months of work and travel and it was the best decision of my life. Everyone who's thinking about solo traveling, I can totally recommend it to you. If you're open minded you'll have the time of your life.
I have also started to work early at 14 but money is not everything to me. People describe me as very
low-maintenance which I agree with. It doesn't need much to make me happy.

Short version : if you're nice to me, I'm nice to you. Doesn't matter what gender, sexual orientation, age, culture, religion you are. I like to treat people how I would want to be treated with respect and an open mind.

Pourquoi je suis sur Couchsurfing

In my opinion couchsurfing is not just about staying at someone's place for free it's about meeting new cultures, changing your perspective and maybe making friends for life.
I like to do spontaneous things and that's how I started couchsurfing: I've heard so much about it, I just had to do it! Since then I never regretted it because I've met so many amazing people, saw great places and had a different vacation than tourists staying at a hotel.
Also the excitement is still the same when I'm arriving at a location, so I'd recommend it to everyone who's willing to be thoughtful of the rules of the host, is kind and open minded to have a good chat.

Centres d'intérêt

I've pretty much wrote it all down in my description but what I'm really interested and involved in is environmentalism, animal equality and equal rights.
Don't get me wrong I totally accept if you're eating meat or are not that involved in it, it's everyone's own decision and right, like I won't give you a full on talk, but I think everyone can make a little difference in their capacity of doing so. For example just pick up your own rubbish, try to not use that much plastic and just take your bike once in a while and maybe try to wide your horizon.
Not that you have to do all of this but if I'm hosting you, I def don't want you to drop any rubbish in the nature because I'm tired of cleaning forest and public places of people's rubbish. Because who wants to stay in a filthy place?

  • animals
  • wildlife
  • writing
  • meditation
  • partying
  • gardening
  • painting
  • music
  • hiking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • sailing
  • sports
  • languages
  • adventure travel
  • food
  • nature
  • waterfalls
  • meeting new people
  • roadtrips
  • nature walks
  • being outside
  • family & friends
  • stepping outside of my comfort zone

Morceaux de musique, films et livres

Obsessed with Reggae, Acoustic, Rock but literally listening to everything I like, except (hardcore) Country Style and Schlager.
I love to read books in a different language and movies and I've watched too many to count them but I kinda stopped watching tv that much since I started traveling. Not that I wouldn't watch it with my host or someone I'm hosting but I just wouldn't watch tv all day at home if I could go outside.

Une aventure extraordinaire que j'ai vécue

My skydive in 2017: best feeling in the world and I'd recommend it to everyone! Don't think about it too long just be spontaneous and you'll have the happiest day of your life. Made a lot of great sailing memories these past years which are too much to count. Oh and for sure cuddling with a Quokka, the happiest animal on earth.

Enseignez, apprenez, partagez

I'm more than happy to change my opinion if you explain something to me calm as well as understandably.
Direct and open communication is really important to me, so more than happy to always learn languages or try food and share experiences.
TREAT PEOPLE HOW YOU WANT TO BE TREATED.

Pays que j'ai visités

Australia, Austria, Croatia, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Scotland, Singapore, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom

Pays dans lesquels j'ai vécu

Australia, Germany, Netherlands

Rejoignez Couchsurfing pour consulter l'intégralité du profil de Merle.

Mes groupes