Michael's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 9 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.


  • 6 references 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 71, Male
  • Member since 2020
  • Retired / Educator
  • BA from Michigan State University; TESOL certification/st...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Mature Gay Man.
Live alone.
Read a lot. Enjoy films. Cook. Like travel.
Completely vaccinated against COVID... including all boosters as of 9/2023.

I'm naked in my own home (especially in the summer months).. Prefer to host ONLY other gay, male nudists. I'm self-conscious about being naked with clothed people.

Retired from careers in Marketing/Communications and ESL Education.

Very relaxed and uninhibited
Consider myself to be sex-positive
Politically and socially very left leaning.
No tolerance for racists/fascists/nationalists.

Very open about my HIV status.. long term survivor here.. in good health (HIV undetectable).

I'm an avid cook and baker. Like spending time with people as long as they like spending time with me.

Love camping and outdoor activity.
Camped near Santa Fe, New Mexico (Black Canyon) and at the Cosmic Campground in the Gila National Forest area of New Mexico. Oregon (Oxbow Regional Park). California (Beals Point) , Missouri (Cactus Canyon and SIRenity Farms). Michigan (Sleeping Bear National Lake Shore; Leelanau State Park and Creek Ridge Campground).
Enjoy gay men-only naturist campgrounds.

RE CS VERIFICATION: I have tried numerous times to verify my government ID.. the CS verification process is arduous.

RE: Responding to negative guest review. I have had several guests who have enjoyed my city on their own. I'm very laid back.. easy going. If you want to do things on your own.. EXCELLENT. I will rarely join you .. with exceptions (i.e. you ask me AND I am available / up for touring with you).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


My place is small.. Important that my guest and I are comfortable sharing a small space. (must pass through my bedroom to get to/from the bathroom)
Enjoy hosting in my small Boystown studio apartment. I offer a comfortable place to sleep for my guests. If we are agreeable you can share my bed with me.

Love meeting new people.. love men of my own and other cultures. Enjoy learning about other ways of life.

The few times I've shared my home with couch surfers, I've really enjoyed it.. I welcome open-minded, liberal, intelligent, patient and tolerant gay nudist men into my home any time.

Hope to travel again to Europe. Not sure when. But if I know I have potential couch surfing hosts, I'll be more likely to travel.

Music, Movies, and Books

FILMS: Paris 05:59 Theo & Hugo; Stranger By the Lake; God's Own Country; Alien series; Bourne series; Auntie Mame; Lincoln; Lord of the Rings trilogy; Three Colors: Blue, White & Red; Code Unknown; Melina; Jean de Florette; Manon of the Spring; Topsy Turvy; Confetti; Angels and Insects
TELEVISION: The Boys; Schitt's Creek; Tales from the Loop; Good Omens; Vikings; American Gods
BOOKS: Anything by Emile Zola, Victor Hugo; Maupassant, Joan Didion, Jim Grimsley, James Reston, Jr, Gabriel Garcia Marquez,.. Love history, well-constructed fiction..

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Moved to Montpellier France for three months in 2005 to take TESOL classes and do student teaching in a French Lysee. If you knew me, you'd know that was a big deal.

Had a house for a while and made a huge, beautiful garden with flowers, vegetables, fruits.. it was great. Made a modest bird and bee sanctuary and courted hummingbirds in particular.

2021: Cross-country drive (well.. the southwestern half of the country) from Chicago to New Mexico. Had many great experiences there, but the best was 4-nights at the Cosmic Campground in Southwest New Mexico.. saw the Milky way 4 nights in a row.. it was magnificent.

Capped the trip off with a camping experience at gay nudist camp ground in Missouri.

2023: Long road trip up through Canada.. west.. through Drumheller, Calgary, Canadian Rockies, Vancouver. Then down the Oregon Pacific Coast. California. West through southern Utah. Keystone Colorado; Missouri. The journey of a lifetime. Saw so many beautiful things; met and spent time with so many wonderful people.

Teach, Learn, Share

Life is one long learning experience. I am (probably) a very young soul.. still learning .. still making mistakes and taking away lessons.. there is something to learn from every person I encounter.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm a quiet, considerate, clean guy who likes being on his own.

I can share my apartment with you.. share meals and conversation.
More or less depending on what you want and prefer. Respectful. If we get along, I am happy to socialize with you.. enjoy cooking together.. sharing experiences.

Guests are free to enjoy and explore the city on their own OR ask me for suggestions. The best guests I've had have done a couple of things with me and many things on their own. If you ask me for guidance, I will give it, If you want me to join you on your explorations, I will if time and circumstances permit. If you prefer to do things on your own, that is fine too.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.

My Groups