Michelle Fones's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michelle’s full profile.


  • 40 references 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Polish
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Travel Agent
  • University of Warsaw, University of South Florida
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Getting settled in Montreal.

I prefer to meet up with people who have many references and have been on CS for a while.


I am very interested in antique and thrift shopping. It’s a lot of fun! I also do bridal and lifestyle modeling as a hobby. It’s been a great way to meet new people and develop a new skill.

I've done a couple long-term solo trips in Europe and have spent several months at a time in different regions of sub-sahara Africa. I believe the best experiences in life are shared with others. I'm still good friends with people I've met while traveling and really value keeping in touch.

I lived in Poland for about four years and visit as often as I can.

I have also previously lived in London, England, Kampala, Uganda, and Gaborone, Botswana.


"Difference is normal"- advice given by my Intercultural Communication professor my last semester of undergrad.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Couchsurfing is something I hold very close to my heart, as this community has been there for me since day one of my solo travel. We have each other's backs here.

I typically stay in hotels now, but I enjoy meeting up with people and attending events.


Couchsurfing has been a great way to meet people when moving to a new city. I’ve made a lot of friends since I started and I am very passionate about the bonds formed by Couchsurfing.


coffee, culture, photography, food, shopping, language, hiking, history, geography

Oh, and I'm quite proud of my Christmas ornament collection. I like to pick one up from every place I visit.

  • pets
  • womens rights
  • coffee
  • politics
  • volunteer work
  • hiking
  • history
  • historic sites
  • feminism
  • world history
  • unesco
  • unesco world heritage sites

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Seeing Victoria Falls.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love talking about travel and giving travel advice whenever I can. I work in the tourism sector. I'm also a volunteer with a couple organizations in Tampa. I love volunteering and would be happy to help out with a nonprofit that needs an extra hand sorting their donations.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My best couchsurfing experiences have been the ones where we just click and genuinely enjoy hanging out.

I LOVE history and geography, so I could talk about those subjects for ages and am very interested in learning something new about your country. After studying WWII in both the US and Poland, I've realized how political education is and appreciate hearing other perspectives on historical events.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Botswana, Bulgaria, Canada, Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, Norway, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Botswana, Canada, Poland, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • 2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Michelle’s full profile.

My Groups