Michal Kratochvil's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 95% response rate
  • Last login 39 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michal’s full profile.


  • 184 references 165 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Czech, English, Spanish; learning Catalan, Valencian, German
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Living for music, sports and travelling, travelling for m...
  • I have studied management of tourism and German language
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Being happy :-) Life should be as simple as that... but not always that easy (1st world problems...)


Hi there, I'm Michal.
music and concert freak, occasional reporter, translator, traveler, hiker, climber, mountain biker, and hopefully much more.
I used to like to keep to myself and I might be a bit shy at first, but I can open up easily if I feel the connection. I love music and talking about it, as well as tea, traveling, and sports!
I would love to host the same music, hiking, and tea enthusiasts as I am :)


To be.
Subham astu sarvadžagatam - Let all beings to be happy.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Many great experiences already and there will be more!!!


Music, music, and music again :) I describe myself as a concert freak. I've already seen thousands of gigs, concerts, festivals, performances, etc. I used to be a metalhead but as I'm getting older, I'm much more of a jazz enthusiast nowadays. You can find my reports here: https://jazzport.cz/author/michal-kratochvl/

Films - Lately hardly watch any movies... but I used to love non-mainstream stuff, especially Scandinavian and Korean movies. It depends on the mood and occasion. On the plane, I might even watch a Hollywood blockbuster :D

Tea - one day I will have a proper tea room :P I enjoy all sorts of teas, but particularly I like red teas and varieties of Darjeeling

Hiking/mountain biking/climbing - I love to go hiking/mountain biking/climbing on any occasion so most of the weekends I am busy doing that. See? That is why I prefer not to host on weekends, but maybe even that can be sorted. Would be happy to meet fellow climbers to go climbing with.

Sports - I tried surfing and would like to improve more and learn it properly, but lately I have kinda put it aside. I am also interested to try other surfing sports like kite surfing and windsurfing one day.

Traveling - Of course! That's why I've registered here :) I decided to leave the Czech republic and I moved to Scotland. Not only to get to know the new country, but also to explore new culture and try to make my life better :)), but also to gain some amazing experience, improve my English and see and be in Highlands. Later on, I settled in Glasgow. As life flows and years pass by, I have realized that Scotland is an amazing country to visit, but not to live in. So for a few years I was finding happiness and new language challenges in Barcelona. And now I'm back in Czechia, currently settled in the most beautiful city in the world - Prague!

  • wine tasting
  • music
  • live music
  • jazz
  • hiking
  • mountains
  • tea
  • craft beer
  • climbing
  • via ferrata
  • mountain bike
  • live concerts
  • progressive rock
  • specialty coffee
  • marillion

Music, Movies, and Books

Prog rock/metal and jazz as I already mentioned - to name just a few bands I like - Marillion, Rush, Pink floyd, Queen, Porcupine tree, Savatage, Tool, Anathema, The Who, Forgotten Silence, Cynic, Exivious, Santana, Pat Metheny, Return to Forever, Weather report, Miles Davis, Chick Corea, Herbie Hancock, John McLaughlin and many many others. Better to check my last.fm profile, there you'll see everything http://www.last.fm/user/mmikk

Movies - Into the Wild, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter ... Spring, Dogville, Man on the moon, American Beauty, and many more, of course

I'm not really a big reader, but I've read quite a few books about Eastern philosophy - Buddhism, Hinduism etc. This helped me a lot and influenced me in my journey...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Seen Roger Waters - The Wall 2011 tour - the most amazing audio/visual experience ever!
Been to four Marillion weekends
Garana Jazz festival (3x)
Seen and been to Highlands
Moved to Scotland
Moved to Spain
Traveled to Oman
Driven a tank, done bungee jumping, paragliding, parachute jump...
Discovered Eastern philosophy and wisdom
Learned to appreciate and enjoy good quality tea, coffee, beer, and wine
Survived massive pulmonary embolism

... and there's much more to come! Definitely

Teach, Learn, Share

I can show you how to prepare good quality tea in many different ways

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my company, experience, energy, opinions, knowledge...

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Malta, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Czech Republic, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Michal’s full profile.

My Groups