Monis Amjad's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 83% response rate
  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Monis’s full profile.

Overview

  • 15 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Finnish, Hindi, Panjabi, Punjabi, Urdu; learning Italian, Spanish, Swedish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2019
  • Software Engineer
  • Masters in Computer Science
  • From Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am Software Developer by profession and currently working at Biocomputing Platform as a Lead Developer and living in Finland for past 8 years and currently in Helsinki near Puotila.

I like travelling, hiking, biking, sports, culture, history etc I am very flexible and adjust with people of all background. I love talking about any topic and share my knowledge about that, if I don't know anything I listen to you carefully.

------------------
Future Travel Plans (in case you like to host me or join)

- May 2023 in Munich to attend Harry styles concert and then continue to Switzerlands, Liechtenstein and Austria. Note, I have two tickets if you want to join
- May 2023 going to Israel and Palestine
- July 2023 in Poland to attend Rammestain concert
- Aug 2023 in Sweden to attend Cold play concert

-------------------
Travel History:

U.A.E - Nov, 2011
Saudi Arab - March, 2013
U.A.E - 2014
Finland - 2015
Sweden, Denmark, Germany, Norway - Nov, 2016
Vietnam - Oct, 2017
Estonia, Latvia - April, 2018
Italy, Austria, Czech Republic - July 2018
Estonia - Aug, 2018
Germany, Switzerland - Sep, 2018
Norway - Nov, 2018
Belgium - Jan, Feb, March,
Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania - April 2019
Belgium - April 2019
Iceland - 01.07 to 09.07 2019

Road trip to Europe with school friends:

Berlin - 20.07.2019
Amsterdam/Rotterdam - 21.07.2019
Brussels - 22.07.2019
Paris - 23.07.2019
Switzerland - 24.07 to 26.07.2019
Florence - 27.07.2019
Rome - 28.07-30.07.2019

Oslo - 02.2020

------------------------------------
03.2020 to 03.2021 sucks
------------------------------------

Sky Diving - 08.2020

Turkey - 04.2021
Bike trip to Oulu - 06.2021
Bungee Jumping - 08.2021
Åland Islands - 08.2021
Hike to Trolltunga - 09.2021
Hike to Pulpit Rock, Ålesund and Atlantic Ocean Road - 10.2021
Finland to Budapest Europe Trip with School Friends - Jan 2022
Aurora Hunting in Finnish Lapland - Feb 2022
Bucharest and Brasov, Romania - May 2022
Paris, France - Jun 2022
Bike trip to Nordkapp - Jun 2022
Croatia - Aug 2022
50 Cents concert - Oct 2022
Denmark - Oct 2022
Brussels - 22.10 to 24.10
Malta = Nov 2022
Portugal = Nov 2022
Pakistan = December 2022

Greece = Fe 2023
Georgia = April 2023
Kosovo and North Macedonia = April 2023

I am planning to go on bicycle trip from Ålands island to Turku, Finland by hopping to different islands.

-------

I love to travel and sports. I like reading news paper, articles, blog. I like to meet new people, make friends, travel with them. I am very ambitious, sincere, humble, friendly, calm, cool, kind person. I like to share experience, stories. I am good listener.

---------------------------------------------------

Note about Surfers:

My apartment is in Klaukkala at the border of Vantaa. It takes 50 mins from Helsinki City centre (Kamppi) to reach to our place. Before sending request please check whether you want to stay or not, Please also tell me why you want to stay with us. I will not accept any request which has copy paste messages.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I was in Brussels when I met a local, she introduced me to CS when I told you that I am getting bore at hotel. She was an active host and asked me to try it out.

I hosted one girl from Ghent at my place in Vantaa, Finland. It was nice experience. She taught me how be a good couchsurfer.

I had my experience as couchsurfer in March, 2019 when I stayed with a (Flemish/Portuguese) couple in Oudenaarde and with a Bulgrain girl in Ghent. They taught me how to be a good host

I like travelling with friends, but sometimes I have to travel alone, although I enjoy more when travelling alone but I really don't like the idea of staying at hotel/hostel. When I saw CS platfrom, I really like the idea for staying with local where you experience local food, share your experience and learn from their experience, get to know about local specialities, places and culture. Where you also get the opportunity to talk to someone when at home.

Interests

  • culture
  • music festivals
  • massage therapy
  • technology
  • traveling
  • music
  • sports
  • history
  • driving
  • bicycling
  • programming
  • hangout
  • robotics
  • story telling
  • long distance hiking
  • space science
  • long distance running

Music, Movies, and Books

Music:

Hip-hop, Jazz, Metal, Folk, Pop, Sufi

Movies:

Intersteller, The Dark knight, Dark knight Rises, Shutter island, Inception, Gravity, Memento, Fast & Furious, 300, Birdbox, the notebook, a walk to remember, Fault in our stars, Polar, Bumblebee, Aquaman, Infinity war, Avengers, Slumdog Millionaire etc etc

TV Series:

GOT, Lost, Hero, Sacred Games, Dare Devil, Arrow, Flash, The 100, Walking Dead, Rome, Breaking Bad, Sex Education, Spartacus, Deadwind, Narcos, Riverdale, Border Town Prison Break, Money Heist, Squid Game, Messiah, Ertgurul, Osman, Rise of Osman, Unorthodox etc etc

Documentaries:

Kapp to Cape, Biking brothers, Vietnam War, Winter on Fire

Books:

Song of ice and fire, Thinking in C++, thinking in C, Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind, 21 Lessons for the 21st Century, Activate your inner potential (Wimhof)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- Skydiving
- Bungee Jumping
- Hike to Trolltunga
- Cycling from Helsinki to Oulu
- Cycling around the Åland Islands
- Travel from south of Pakistan to China border by road and come back. 4000km round trip.
- Drive from Rome-Berlin all alone in 1.5 days
- Drive through Iceland Ring Road 2600 Km
- Driven around Europe
- Several Couch Surfing and Warm showers experiences

Teach, Learn, Share

= Teach and Share:

- Programming Languages, Mobile, Software and Web Development
- Help in setting up the travel blog/website
- Travel experience and stories
- Travel planning and management
- Languages
- How to cook Indian/Pakistani food
- My travel plans and ambitions
- Cricket
- Jokes, Feelings, Time

= Learn

- Language
- Culture
- History
- Experience
- Food
- Anything you want to offer and teach me

What I Can Share with Hosts

My travel stories and experiences. knowledge, wisdom, happiness, computer Skills, Experiences. It really depends on what you need, If I know something I am happy to share.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Pakistan, Palestine, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Åland Islands

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, Pakistan, United Arab Emirates

Join Couchsurfing to see Monis’s full profile.