Julia 'Muffin' Hughes's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 20% response rate
  • Last login 20 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia 'Muffin'’s full profile.


  • 71 references 62 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Arabic, Persian (Farsi), Spanish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Population Health Program Manager
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Greetings and salutations, fellow wandering comrades! I am Julia, you can call me Muffin, she/her. I moved in St. Louis in August 2017 settling down after work around Southeast Asia and some other continents for some time. I graduated in 2019 with my masters degrees in public health and social work and stayed here in STL to experience corporate population health program managing at a managed care org. St. Louis is nice, it’s a little gem and I think will get super popular in a decade. I have a background in social work and teaching many things: English, technology use and swimming. I've worked at psychiatric hospitals and community centers, foundations and at Apple. I'm very interested in anti-capitalism, art and self-care..

As a surfer I seek to be helpful, tidy and positive. Happy to take care of pets, children, chores or cook a meal.

If you're staying with me, my yogi mother - here or traveling, Christa, and we have two hypoallergenic dogs Monty Gina and three chickens. I have been spending half my time in Utah with my partner so I am not in STL all the time in 2023. Now, If you send a request please tell me your pronouns or favorite flower. It’s one of the ways we know that y’all actually read hosts’ profiles 🃏

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Connection and sharing of space. I feel that I'm Living ‘my truth’ the most when I have moments of mutual understandings with other humans, if that makes sense.
So couchsurfing helps me do it.
Amazing people hosted me on the road and I enjoying repaying that kindness every time.


Creating, Trivia, exploring, nature and cooking meals for others. And of course discos.

  • culture
  • cooking
  • painting
  • karaoke
  • hiking
  • camping
  • geography
  • geopolitics
  • social work
  • sociology
  • ukulele
  • learning languages
  • biking
  • disco
  • techno
  • public health
  • feminism
  • counseling
  • haiku
  • data science
  • botany
  • political economy
  • gerontology
  • data visualization
  • ideology
  • racial equity

Music, Movies, and Books

I love all music and dancing, but my some* top artist/bands are the Slits, Crass, Pixies, Aphex Twin and Deee-Lite. Big fan of mindfulness and writings related to Buddhism, namely Thich Nhat Hahn. I also read a lot of political economic tragedies novel or nonfiction (climate change, disease, apocalyptic events). I enjoy Persian poets like Rumi, Khayyam. I don't watch many movies but I like the 5th element and I love the movie Koyaanisqatsi (and P. Glass scores). If I do watch live television, it's only watch the best program known to me... Jeopardy! TM

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Car camped from Muscat to Salalah, Oman.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach learn share...
I teach heaps. Policy, geopolitics, the New Deal, guided meditation, critical thought, swimming, farsi, cooking, technology use, academia, healthcare, patience.
I want to learn everything good and be mindful and appreciative of the present in the present!
We can share life lessons and all be teachers.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Laundry, fridge, company, home meals

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Cambodia, Canada, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Mexico, Myanmar, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Oman, Palestine, Peru, Philippines, South Africa, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Viet Nam, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Myanmar, Thailand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia 'Muffin'’s full profile.

My Groups