Valentin Nerding's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 15 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Valentin’s full profile.


  • 100 references 78 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German, Spanish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Physiotherapist / Physical therapist
  • Bachelor of Science in Physiotherapy
  • From Landau in der Pfalz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I created this profile back in 2010, loads of things are kinda 'outdated', so the more you scroll the older the stuff is :-D 20-year-old me is very different than 30 something...but maybe not even that much, I don't know you'd be the judge. I am mostly working but sometimes, I am not, lol. I might be busy, I might not.

I finally got my visa to be able to live in the US. Just got married and now starting to learn how to live with my wife in San Diego :-)

I live 3 blocks from the beach in Pacific Beach, I have a surfboard you are can borrow.


Why? I don't know - help and change people!


I am a physical therapist who just quit his job to go and travel for some years....
I LOVE doing sports. I like so many things that I cannot even list them all.

I have a lot of different personalities. I love to talk about random stuff, the ultimate randomness of life. I believe there is always a meaning and maybe a deeper thought in it.
When I go out I am usually a bit freaky, I like to talk to strangers. I don't want to annoy anyone but I'm super open and just go and ask.



- Life is too short to be upset!!
- Do whatever you wanna do, but have fun!
- "L'enfer, c'est les autres"
- We all live for Moments and this is just going to be one of them
-Whenever you feel sad, you should know that there are better moments coming up very soon

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


When I have a place to stay I host, because I think it's great to have traveling without moving, since you meet new people all the time.


I met awesome guys and had great times! A lot of laughing and also some serious conversations...It's just an awesome way to travel! It's not even only the way that somebody can host you or you can host someone, it's also the events that make this whole site so amazing! I met SO MANY PEOPLE it's just amazing!!! I admit: I AM AN ADDICT!

05 Days in Ottawa | 10 Days in Montréal | 03 Days in Jonquière | 04 Days in Québec City | 05 Days in Toronto | 02 Days in New York | 02 Days in Philadelphia | 05 Days in Washington D.C. | 02 Days in Richmond | 03 Days in Virginia Beach | 06 Days in New York (again) |05 Days in Winnipeg | 01 Days in Regina | 04 Days in Kelowna, BC | 04 Days in Vancouver, BC | 01 Days in San Francisco, CA | 03 Days in Paris | 01 Days in La Rochelle | 02 Days in Bordeaux | 01 Days in Carcasonne | 01 Days in Arles | 02 Days in Munich | 03 Days in Würzburg | 05 Days in Bayonne | 02 Days in Sitges | 02 Days in Figueres | 02 Days in Poitiers | 01 Days in Campel (near Rennes) | 03 Days in Quimpère | 01 Days in Billiers (near Vannes) | 02 Days in Eindhoven | 02 Days in Gent | 02 Days in Den Haag | 03 Days in Budapest | 02 Days in Vienna | 02 Days in Innsbruck | 02 Days in Antwerpen | 02 Days in La Garde | 03 Days in Marseille | 01 Days in Liège | 02 Days in Porto | 02 Days in St. Sebastien | 01 Days in Sofia | 02 Days in Plovdiv | 01 Days in Ioannina | 01 Days in Tirana | 0.5 Days in Korce | 01 Days in Split | 02 Days in Istanbul | 01 Days in Baku | 02 Days in Aktau | 04 Days in Shetpe | 02 Days in Lanzhou | 03 Days in Beijing | 02 Days in Guadalajara | 4 Days in Puerto Vallarta | 02 Days in Ajijic | 01 Days in Chapala | 02 Days in Stralsund

03 times in Montreal | 05 times in Paris | 05 times in Eindhoven | 07 times in San Diego


RANDOMNESS IS MY DEAL - I NEVER PLAN ANYTHING (unless I really really have to) that way you cannot be disappointed because you do not have expectations. That's what I love about traveling

I play:
-Volleyball - I was coach for many 10 years
-Ultimate Frisbee
-Inline skating
-Longboarding (as well as downhill, not really possible in Netherlands though)
-Swimming (Lifeguard for about 9years or so)

I got to different kind of myself, sometimes I like to be lazy, maybe on the beach or something else, but I don't like to be inside unless the weather is bad :-).

  • cooking
  • walking
  • traveling
  • surfing
  • sports
  • basketball
  • volleyball
  • swimming
  • hitchhiking
  • beaches
  • ultimate frisbee
  • 420

Music, Movies, and Books

Mostly techno, minimal and deep house. Everything with a good beat but also hip hop, rap country or whatever really. I

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I'm a scout for 10 years and I've done a lot of crazy amazing things... :-)I've been walking on the top of the "Zugspitze" (2.962,06 m) the highest mountain in Germany in 3 days at the age of 14. I also hiked through different European countries. Hitchhiked across Canada and got addicted to thumbing by that. So after that, I'm not paying for any transport anymore and I succeed to get everywhere I want to (so far^^) - that’s not true anymore now that I’m 30, hahaha, waiting for a ride can suuuck!!! (But doesn’t have to)

Hitch-hiked Distance (last updated November 2017):
54 107 km / 33 620 miles

Teach, Learn, Share

How randomness of life can treat you if you are ready for it.

Life is a giant roller coaster

What I Can Share with Hosts

I like to cook, usually do that together with the hosts. I have been trying in the last few years to get better in "german cuisin" but it seems to be quite hard BUT I LIKE TO TRY! :-)

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France, Germany, Netherlands, South Korea, Switzerland, United States

Old School Badges

  • 8 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Valentin’s full profile.

My Groups