Adam Wascholl's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Adam’s full profile.


  • 20 references 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 41, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Accountant/farmer
  • Master's in Accounting.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To experience as much as the world has to offer.


I currently live in Boulder County after moving here in early 2013. The mountains and people in this area help keep me inspired, and the final deciding factor was the amount of organic agriculture and the local food culture, which I hope to learn from and someday start up my own business related to one or both of those things. When I'm not working my day job, I can usually be found exploring hobbies like: tending to my garden, fixing up a bike at Community Cycles, making food products at home (tempeh, yum!), and spending time at the local hacker space building a DIY gadget.

In the past, I was involved with building an sustainable urban housing cooperative. There were five households involved in an experiment to reduce our carbon footprint, live locally, and to develop the skills necessary to do so. I, in particular, am interested in: building and construction, gardening, and creating new systems to connect those who want to work on similar projects. I hope to someday try starting another one, but only after I've recovered from the experience, and find the right people.

I enjoy the simple things in life, and don't need much more than fresh foods, great relationships, and the ability to travel and explore.


Build what you love, instead of fighting what you hate.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I try to host whenever possible, even if I'm not available to show a person around town.


I've had nothing but great experiences, and feel like I now have people I can travel with if I'm ever in their area.

My most memorable experience was my first time being hosted. My host in Japan was very accommodating, and lived near a train station. Having been awake for nearly 30 hours by that point, having a place to establish a base was very comforting.


Sustainable living, New England autumns, organic gardening, building DIY gadgets, cooking, building community, alternative currencies.

  • culture
  • diy
  • dining
  • cooking
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • bouldering
  • cycling
  • agriculture
  • business
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Any documentaries & books that teach me something.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Traveling Japan alone was an amazing experience for me. It was simultaneously my first time Couchsurfing, and visiting another country by myself.

Teach, Learn, Share

I want to learn more about gardening, especially soil-less methods like aquaponics. Other than that, I love hearing about new things I may not have considered before, especially when discussed by open-minded, passionate individuals.

As for teaching, I love teaching anybody anything if they show an eagerness to learn; it's much more enjoyable than trying to teach something to somebody who only feels they 'need' to learn it.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Japan, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Adam’s full profile.

My Groups