Justin Malachowski's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 12 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Justin’s full profile.

Overview

  • 18 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Arabic (Tunisia), English; learning Arabic, French, German
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Anthropologist
  • PhD
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

In Davis, California until July. After, back to Tunis

CURRENT MISSION
Learn German

ABOUT ME

I love to travel on the dot and on the dime, and have had a bit of travel experience throughout my relatively short life. I love Art and Music. I love to Sculpt, and play just about any instrument I can get my hands on. I've been know to spontaneously put my life on hold and take to the highways with just my thumb and my Fiddle; although, I don't recommend hitchhiking on the Greek Islands. I am currently studying in Davis, California working on a PhD in Social Anthropology.

PHILOSOPHY

oh, the absolute simplicity of a misadventure gone right.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Stay on couches from time to time. I also commonly host the destitute and vagabonds of the world.
My couch, home and friendship is always open to anyone who needs it.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I arrived in Ankara, Turkey completely destitute. I met two men on the street. One, a Turkish Student and Web page designer, the other, a Dutch banker on vacation. I told them I was having trouble finding cheap hotels. The Turkish student said he knew a few and it would be no problem for him to take me to them to check the prices. After visiting a couple hotels and finding no reasonable price, the Turkish student invited me for tea at his home. We talked over strong black tea for nearly three hours. It was late and I announced that I should probably return to one of the hotels to secure a room. The Turkish student said it was ridicules for me to have to pay so much for a room. He then offered his couch inviting me to stay as long as I desired. The Dutch man was also staying in the apartment and for the next several weeks they showed me an amazing experience as we explored the city together. It was my first experience couchsurfing and the experience that showed me that all people, no matter how strange or unusual, can be generous and kind.

Interests

Where to start?
I love to play music and dance. I love to cook and eat. I love to learn and teach.

I can play the violin, the Banjo, and some guitar.

I am a consummate sailor and hope to sail around the world one day.

I love to create art and work with my hands. I used to work in construction and work as a sculptor. I can work in wood, metal, stone, and ceramic.

I recently started to learn how to fence with Foil and Sabre.

I love to go hiking in the city, the country, or the forest.

I love to play any sport even if I am not that good at it.

  • arts
  • design
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • violin
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • sports
  • anthropology
  • hitchhiking

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Every sunset I have ever seen

Teach, Learn, Share

In 2010 I conducted a two year long Anthropological research thesis on Couchsurfing and how it is changing our understanding of the traveling experience. If you are interested in learning about my results just let me know!

I have many skills to share and many things I want to learn. I am willing to teach the skills I have to anybody. I also have the patience to learn anything others have to teach.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share stories, music, and cooking. A good conversation or an adventure.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Israel, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Palestine, Switzerland, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Armenia, Brazil, Egypt, Tunisia, United States

Old School Badges

  • 4 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Justin’s full profile.

My Groups