Jesse Cone's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 93% response rate
  • Last login about 11 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jesse’s full profile.

Overview

  • 33 references 15 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Forest Conservationist
  • M.S. Biology from Louisiana Tech
  • From Shreveport, LA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello!

I'm a firm believer that strangers are just friends you haven't met yet. There are so many wonderful people in this world and couch surfing has been a great way to meet new interesting people. Living life to the fullest is my priority in life and adventures are always more fun when you have friends to share them with.

I'm open-minded and deeply thoughtful. Science and nature are my jam. I love meeting new people and discussing how to get by in this crazy world of ours. I'm a good listener and happy to discuss personal topics so that we may each grow as a person.

nature lover | vegan | kind-hearted | multicultural | environmentalist | fully-vaccinated

https://www.instagram.com/njconeiv/

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Everyone has something to teach me in this world. We live on a beautiful planet, and I want to share it's joy with others. I use couchsurfing to meet new people and create new experiences =)

Interests

I love visiting botanical gardens and hiking in wildlife refuges. Eating good local cuisine is a must! I love trying new foods, especially anything Indian or Thai. Vegetables are my favorite :P
My favorite hobbies these days are: hiking, snowboarding, climbing, and grabbing drinks with friends!

  • cooking
  • gardening
  • hiking
  • forestry
  • history
  • science
  • sustainability
  • social justice
  • plants
  • feminism
  • conservation
  • environmentalism
  • philosphy
  • composting
  • veganism/vegetarianism

Music, Movies, and Books

I enjoy the sounds of an electric guitar rift or the bass dropping. I have too many favorite bands to list, but lately I’ve been into some classic rock.

** I can like any genre under the sun **

A good book is a must. Catch me reading sci-fi or fantasy. Ursula Le Guin is my favorite recent author.

I also love podcasts! My favorites right now are In Defense of Plants and Completely Arbortrary. I've also been on a few podcasts :)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Was able to ride the live concert bus "Interstellar Transmissions" while I was at Marde Gras a few years ago.

Imagine a psychedelic bus with a band in the back that had lights synced to the instruments. Truly a magical experience.

https://www.facebook.com/InterstellarTransmissions/

I also worked my butt off and got some of my research published! You can read it here:
https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/00103624.2022.2046034

Teach, Learn, Share

My passion for the environment has allowed me to become very well acquainted with native species. I can teach you how to identify plants and will even tell you what trees you have in your yard.

I am a great cook and am happy to share recipes! I cook 99% of my meals so I can teach you some very yummy ways to cook vegetables .

I have a large amount of empathy and compassion for others. I love learning new things, and can help explain anything scientific that you may want to know.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good stories, a passion for plants, and laughs.

We can hangout together during the stay, or we could keep out of each others hair, whatever you prefer.

I'll do my best to make sure you are comfortable.

Countries I’ve Visited

United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jesse’s full profile.

My Groups