Le foto di Carl Haley

Profilo verificato

  • Metodo di pagamento verificato
  • Numero di telefono verificato
  • Documento di identità non verificato

Accetta ospiti

  • Tasso di risposta del 100%
  • Ultimo accesso circa un'ora fa

Iscriviti a Couchsurfing per visualizzare il profilo completo di Carl.

Informazioni generali

  • 38 referenze 11 Confermato e positivo
  • Lingua che parla fluentemente English, Spanish; lingua che sta imparando Chichewa, Chewa, Nyanja, French, German
  • 58, Uomo
  • Membro dal 2010
  • Retired from Educational Technology
  • Degrees in Math, Computer Science, Spanish
  • Di San Francisco, CA, USA
  • Profilo completo al 100%

Chi sono

CURRENT MISSION

My hubby and I have finally retired and we moved to southern Spain for the next chapter of our lives. We chose the little village of Torremolinos near Malaga because it’s a lovely community that happens to have a lot of gay retired people! I am active in the LGTBIQ+ sports group DiverSport where I do beach volleyball, hiking, petanca, and sea sports.

Terry and I recently read in The Big Gay Relationship Handbook that after 32 years together, we have the option of taking a one year “sabbatical” from our relationship. We weren’t breaking up. We weren’t separating. But instead we individually worked on all the stuff about ourselves that will make us a better person overall and a better partner for each other.

Right after I retired, I took my "sabbatical" year traveling the world alone. I met many wonderful people and shared lots of great times and food with other world citizens. This the year, I spent three months in Europe, then three months in South Africa and Asia, then three months in Central and South America, and then finally the spring back in Europe.

ABOUT ME

Fiften years ago, my husband, son, and I quit our jobs, sold our belongings, rented out our house in LA and moved to Munich, Germany. After we finished our contracts and traveled for a whole year visiting all six continents before returning to California. We called it Fifth Grade Around The World so that our son could experience some of the diversity that the world has to offer.

Next we landed back in Berkeley next to San Francisco for 11 years. The area is vibrant and offers lots of family, friends, and fun. We had a lovely time.

PHILOSOPHY

Life is to be enjoyed. I am lucky to have many wonderful friendships. But there is always room for more. I often say that I am my happiest when I have a full house. Life is meant to be shared with others.

IG: @olafmandk

Perché sono iscritto su Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I use Couchsurfing to meet great people from all around the world.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Had a great time meeting CSers in Malaga, San Francisco, Istanbul, Bangkok, Ho Chi Min, Cochin, India, Delhi, Jaipur, Mumbai, Singapore, Melbourne, New Zealand, Buenos Aires, Valparaiso, Cartagena, Bogota and Santiago.

We have also hosted some Couchsurfers from time to time here in Berkeley.

Interessi

Travel, rock climbing, mt. biking, live music, theater, drag queens, museums, musicals, planes, Lego, eating locally grown food, cooking, reading, Scrabble.

  • theater
  • dining
  • cooking
  • electronics
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • live music
  • cycling
  • rock climbing
  • tourism
  • queer
  • gays

Musica, film e libri

Favorite book: Confederacy of Dunces
Music: Classical, jazz, musicals, gospel
Movies: I'm a sucker for a romantic comedy. I also like anything that gets me crying. I cried THREE times during Toy Story 3. I'm a sap. Can you really watch Pretty Woman too many times?

Una cosa incredibile che ho fatto

Arriving at the top of Mt. Kilimanjaro just as the sun was rising. Tears still fill my eyes thinking about it.

Insegna, impara, condividi

FREQUENT FLYER POINTS: I am a crazy collector of frequent flyer points. I once got over 2 million miles by buying Nutrigrain cereal bars. I love talking to travelers about maximizing their miles. These days I travel mostly in business and first class only using miles!

Cosa posso offrire ai padroni di casa

I love to cook. Let's make a meal together!

Paesi che ho visitato

Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Denmark, England, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Portugal, Qatar, Scotland, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Zimbabwe

Paesi in cui ho vissuto

Germany, Malawi, Spain, United States

Distintivi “vecchia scuola”

  • 6 Garantiscis
  • Distintivo “pioniere”

Iscriviti a Couchsurfing per visualizzare il profilo completo di Carl.

I miei gruppi