Rakesh Sehgal's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rakesh’s full profile.

Overview

  • 11 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hindi, Panjabi, Punjabi
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Product and Strategy Consultant for Startups
  • Engineering Graduate, IIT Delhi
  • From New Delhi, Delhi, India
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

We're a family of 3, all fond of travel, people, cultures, and exploration.

I've studied engineering, built a couple of tech startups, and am currently heading another tech company. My wife is working remotely at the founder's office at an agri-tech startup in the US. Our daughter of 5 yrs, is currently learning everything.

We all want to travel the world and enlighten ourselves by knowing more about people, cultures, ethnicities, and nature. We love to road schooling and alternate schooling our kid, instead of traditional schooling. She's already visited several cities in over 6 countries and dozens of cities in India, on almost all standard modes of transport and hence has been growing up being flexible to adjust to the environment and resources around.

We've traveled to various states of India like Delhi, MP, Uttarakhand, Himachal, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Telangana, Sikkim, Maharashtra and Punjab. Internationally we've traveled to 9 countries apart from India.

I'm an avid reader of a variety of topics including history, politics, people, and personalities, and have a decent understanding of Human and Organisation Psychology, and Indian Social, Political, and Civil structure. Always love to learn from the experiences of others.

We're vegetarians but are fine with the company of people with different food choices. My wife is a pro-level cook of many standard Indian foods, and we always love to make people taste some of our Indian food flavors.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

We're Knowledge enthusiasts who want to grab knowledge from all sources possible. Travel is one major source of our learning. We know it's almost impossible to travel to each and every place on earth, but at least by giving a chance to people to come to us and be able to go to them, we can learn about their years of experience through a few hours of conversations. What could be better than that?

We also understand the value of finding a good host and a good local guide in a foreign land. That's why we want to host people coming to our city and look for nice hosts when we visit other parts of this country and the world.

Interests

  • education
  • socializing
  • social work
  • adventure travel
  • nature
  • adventure
  • trekking
  • indonesia
  • nature walks
  • adventure sports
  • nature conservation
  • jungle trekking
  • mountain trekking

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: We like almost all types of music.
Movies: Good Humour; Intellectually intriguing ones; about Human emotions; mind-bending; real-stories.
Reading: I like reading something about everything. My wife mostly likes fiction.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Yet to do something amazing.

Teach, Learn, Share

It's the journey that matters, not the destination.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Me and my wife are living in an apartment in Karnal, in the state of Haryana. It's a small city nestled between Delhi and Chandigarh. It's a fairly developed city, with very good quality of life, and air (Important in this region).

We've a fairly large independent floor, with two AC bedrooms rooms and a large hall. One of these mostly remains vacant as we all use only one bedroom. Since we've a kid, hence we've almost many kids-necessities as well, and the house is quite kid-friendly as well.

We've couple of helps for all sort of household chores and cooking as well, hence can easily handle any additional guests at home. My wife as well, is a pretty decent cook of various Indian dishes as well as some International as well.

Other than a place to stay, we'd be happy to take our friends outside for a city tour and explore some street food, as well as a glimpse of the markets and old city of a small town.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, France, Hungary, India, Italy, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, Switzerland, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

India

Join Couchsurfing to see Rakesh’s full profile.

My Groups