Rick Sherry's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rick’s full profile.


  • 25 references 21 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Nepali
  • 55, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Builder of unique spaces
  • Always something more to learn!
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To start more things than I can finish without getting into more trouble than I can get out of!


I love my work. I love my time away from work. I love that my work allows me to take time away from work.

I enjoyed spending time with my Grandmother. I cherished caring for my Mother before health issues became too much for her to overcome. I hope that if I ever live to be the age of my Father I'm in half the shape he is in.

My favorite lunch is a hot dog and a pepsi. I don't like cheese (go figure being from Wisconsin)


Do not be afraid of making mistakes in life but always be sure to do the right thing to correct them.

Work at something you like and you'll never have to work a day in your life.

Enjoy each day and go to bed happy!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


visited 50 states (22.2%)Create your own visited map of The World or Triposo world travel guide for Android


I started living on couches in the 80's while traveling through the States. It was more of a challenge to find a couch before this site came along.


Rock climbing, mountain biking, downhill skiing, cross country skiing and backpacking are high on my list of activities, though on a daily basis I run, hike the local trails, swim or bike. I enjoy being physically fit and the rewards, physically and mentally, from exercising on a regular basis.

Adventure travel has led me through all 50 states in the US and 60 countries around the world. I've enjoyed bungy jumping in New Zealand, white water rafting in Chile, trekking in Nepal, biking through the country sides of China, sailing the Mediterranean in Turkey, Croatia and the Greek Isles, climbing Volcanoes in Mexico, climbing half (so far) of the 14'rs in Colorado and even getting lost in back roads of Costa Rica.

I have my Advanced Open Water SCUBA certification and have dived in Thailand, Croatia, Jordan, Egypt, Mexico, The Maldives and The Virgin Islands.

  • dogs
  • exercise
  • running
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • scuba diving
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • tourism
  • adventure travel

Music, Movies, and Books

Kind of a talk radio kinda guy now that I've aged a bit. When I do listen to music it tends to follow the interest of whoever turned the radio on, as long as it's not waling country, heavy metal or deeply religious.

My music collection, limited as it is, includes some great Peruvian CD's, a few Thai classics and a sampling of some African tunes. Mostly instrumental stuff as I get annoyed when I can't understand the words to the songs.

A random sampling of my slightly larger movie collection includes Gladiator, National Treasure, Day after Tomorrow, A Knights Tale, The Thomas Crowne Affair, The Greatest Game Ever Played, Love Actually, Hitch and Serendipity.

I'll watch any movie more than once if it has a good story to tell.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Working on this one...

I survived three near fatal events so I'm amazed that I'm still here to ponder this one...

Teach, Learn, Share

If you dig up the past, all you get is dirty.

Stupidity has no limits.

Peculiar how contributions to the church always seems to keep you in good graces.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Lebanon, Malaysia, Maldives, Mexico, Montenegro, Nepal, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Norway, Palestine, Panama, Peru, Qatar, Singapore, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Virgin Islands, British, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Nepal, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Rick’s full profile.

My Groups