Rebecca Knapp's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rebecca’s full profile.

Overview

  • 18 references 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • Multiple Jobs
  • Louisiana State University
  • From Pittsburgh, PA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a young(er) professional who has a passion for traveling and learning about other cultures. I used to live in Austria, as well as participated in a few cultural exchanges in my youth, and felt enlightened by the experiences. My lifelong passion for exploring the world and expanding my worldview drove me to save aggressively throughout the last four years --I am happy to say that after working in behavioral health and other social sectors for several years, I saved up enough money to quit both of my jobs and travel the world indefinitely.

Before this, I have spent most of my career serving others. Most recently, I worked with Anchorage's at-risk youth by providing vocational training and access to mental health services; but I have also managed food pantries and helped rescue food from commercial kitchen spaces to low-income families. In my free time, I enjoy spending my time outdoors (hiking, biking, skiing, etc.), as well as getting together with friends for a pint or a casual conversation. I am an avid tea drinker and love to cook! When I have access to a kitchen, I make my own breads (tortillas, loaves, pancakes, naan, bagels, scones, etc.), yogurt/spreads/sauces, and most of my meals from scratch. Back in Anchorage, I gardened with my roommate in the summer and was blessed with year-long access to fresh produce from a network of local farmers. All is to say, I would be honored to learn how to cook a dish from your home country/region to add to my weekly repertoire!

Living in Alaska has allowed me to reflect on how scarce our resources on Earth truly are and how important it is to use the gifts nature provides us wisely. I value sustainable practices and conserving the resources that remain.. Recognizing these resources as gifts, caring for these gifts, taking only what we need, and giving what we don't use ensures that we have these resources and natural beauty for generations to come!
Much like the couchsurfing community, reciprocity is key for building community and recognizing gratitude for what we have in life. I have found greater appreciation and happiness in my life when I act as a steward for others and our world, and I dream that others will someday follow suit.

I am independent, easygoing, and while l tend to prefer low-key, quiet activities, I am always up for an adventure and willing to try new things outside of my comfort zone. I hope to meet you soon!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To meet new people from other countries while traveling on a budget, in hopes of establishing international relations and peace that I hope can be extended to my home. In my opinion, without learning from and reconciling our differences, we will never be able to achieve world peace. Couchsurfing allows us to bridge that gap; and it only starts with you and me!

Interests

  • photography
  • cooking
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • homebrewing
  • hiking
  • skiing
  • psychology
  • volunteering
  • food
  • learning languages
  • biking
  • learning new things
  • theology
  • hydroponics
  • international relationships

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: 50s-80s music generally, but I love too many genres because each one speaks to me differently in different situations. Really the only thing I don't willingly listen to are heavy metal/screamo and country.

Movies: Stand By Me, Black Swan, Breakfast Club, Forrest Gump -- I am sure there are more, but I generally don't watch movies because I rather be out in the world or focus on other things.

Books: 1984, Into the Wild, Secondhand Time, Braiding Sweetgrass

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Helping transition-aged youth overcome a cycle of poverty by providing them a chance to achieve their personal and professional goals/dreams.

What I Can Share with Hosts

-Life in the United States (e.g. politics, culture, etc.)
-Austrian culture
-Information about Louisiana/LSU
-Life in (southcentral) Alaska
-The basics of homebrewing (wine and mead though)
-Baking or other vegetarian recipes
-The basics of hydroponics
-Trauma-informed care
-Random travel stories

... or whatever you want to know that I may be able to share.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Andorra, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Fiji, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Mexico, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Austria, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Rebecca’s full profile.

My Groups