Richard Strater's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Richard’s full profile.

Overview

  • 54 references 45 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Looking for jobs that advance health equity
  • MA in (medical) anthropology
  • From Camden, SC, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello! Hola! I just finished my MA in anthropology. I'm not sure what's next, but I'd like to reconnect with couchsurfers while I figure it out. Below are a few of my general interests and where I'm coming from.

I love to perform music, meet new people, and travel. I've done shows across nearly all of the United States of America. You can find a list of all the venues I've played on my website at richstratermusic.webs.com. I can't promise that the list will always be current. I grew up Spanish Catholic in small town South Carolina.

Me gusta tocar música, conocer gente nueva, y viajar. Conozco 43 estados de los Estados Unidos y varias partes de la República Mexicana también. Me gusta aprender sobre la historia y lingüística. Soy maestro en antropología y lingüística. Espero que un día pueda aprender una lengua indígena de México.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Initially, I joined couchsurfing so that I am more easily able to play music in and see as many places as possible. Now that I've had more experiences with Couch Surfing, I would hate to travel and experience the culture of the land any other way. As a touring musician, couchsurfing allows me to not only gain important insight about my new destination, but I am also able to fully appreciate my surroundings when with a new friend. I travel alone a lot. Being in a town by myself can be very frightening. I love meeting fellow musicians, travelers, and people who are out on the road day after day just like I am. It's especially awesome when we can talk about a specific venue in a specific town or the stereotypical couchsurfer with almond milk, sleepy time tea, and how couchsurfers are typically raging liberals that feel the bern. Wanderlust seems to be something genetic on both sides of my family.

I try to host when I can. My goal right now is to return the love so many hosts have shown me by showing other travelers a good time in Columbia, SC.

Interests

I like to go on hikes, play shows, and go to interesting places that I've never been to before.

Music, Movies, and Books

Recently I've really been digging City and Colour as well as Iron and Wine. Trevor Hall, who grew up in South Carolina, is a calming soul for me as well. Paramore, Seether, Staind, and Smile Empty Soul are my go to when I wake up or I'm heading out at night.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I performed in Times Square with Occupy Wallstreet-on accident.
I continuously spent 5 weeks and 3 days playing shows across the United States.
I did my first tour at 17 years old.

My current record is 18 weeks straight on the road. This record was made between February 3rd, 2016 and June 12th, 2016.

I spent 14 weeks driving my car around the lower 48 American states on a concert tour before returning home for a week only to leave on another tour.

I have played shows in León, Querétaro, and Coyocán, México. I lived in Queretaro for six weeks during the summer of 2018.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm always up to teaching people about music and the U.S.Teach me other languages, I need to practice my English teaching skills too. Shamanism interests me and how sound waves affect the brain amazes me. I love meeting people of other cultures and talking about life in other parts of the world. If I laugh at you speaking another language it's probably not because I think it sounds funny, it's probably because I understood some of it.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm always grateful to be given anything. If I can return the favor by washing dishes or cleaning your home, I will gladly do so. I try to sneak this in regardless. Ask me about my home and where I've been please. I like to think of home when I'm far away and I like to think of far way places when I'm home. I can play music for you. You might enjoy it.

Countries I’ve Visited

Jamaica, Mexico

Countries I’ve Lived In

Mexico, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Richard’s full profile.

My Groups