Rissa ~'s Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rissa’s full profile.

Overview

  • 45 references 34 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2018
  • No occupation listed
  • BFA
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I’m Rissa, she/her! Portland born, lover of the slower paced outdoorsy activities. I’ve traveled all over, but have so much to explore in my own backyard and around the US.

✊🏻🖤🤎🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍⚧️

Trying to make this work with Covid (still) around! Whether I'm hosting you or you’re hosting me, let's communicate openly about any illness symptoms. I'm sure we can find a work around if someone is sick.

You can also find me on Couchers, if you prefer!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Meeting like-minded travelers, and resource sharing. Community is the antithesis of capitalism.

If I’m Hosting, one thing I ask is that you only bring vegan foods into the home. This is not a judgement or way to control your lifestyle, but a preference for the way I keep my home and kitchen that’s aligned with my values. If you can respect this boundary, please put “liberation for all beings” in your message. This also lets me know you read my profile :)

Interests

I love animals, am passionate about liberation 🇵🇸 , and live for vegan food. When I travel, I'm always looking for the best hikes, views, hot springs, etc. I enjoy meeting locals, and seeing the city through their perspective, but I'm also a sucker for a tourist must-see.

  • vegan
  • reading
  • hiking
  • buddhist
  • art
  • dance
  • social justice
  • ocean
  • feminism
  • costumes
  • climate change
  • embroidery
  • birding
  • cooking and baking
  • mermaids
  • self help
  • stand up paddle
  • abolition

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Matt and Kim, alt-J, Khalid, Cigarettes After Sex, Frank Ocean, Pink Floyd, 2000s emo...

Recent watches: Where the Crawdad's Sing, While You Were Sleeping, and Being John Malkovich.

Recent reads: What happened to you?, We do this till we free us, Letters to a young poet, and Your body is not an apology.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Started a monthly Climate Cafe in Portland to talk about climate-related emotions and build community.
Volunteered in Jamaica and Antigua doing pop-up eye care clinics in the community.
Was a "Big Sister" mentor for 6 years.

Teach, Learn, Share

As a host, I can give you tips on the best places to visit and eat in Portland. I can give you hiking/nature suggestions. My schedule can be busy, but I’d love to chat over a cup of tea or a meal. Once in a while I am able to take surfers on a mini adventure.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A vegan home cooked meal or a goodie from Portland. I’d love to walk your dog or even pet sit! I can also do basic mending, and/or show you how to embroider.

Countries I’ve Visited

Antigua and Barbuda, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Jamaica, Netherlands, Scotland, Spain, Switzerland, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Rissa’s full profile.

My Groups