Russell Henderson's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 70% response rate
  • Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Russell’s full profile.

Overview

  • 82 references 74 Confirmed & Positive
  • Learning Spanish
  • 49, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Social Care
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I enjoy photography, live music, climbing, cycling, chess, rowing, river swimming, salsa and I'm learning Spanish. I have two grown up sons who taught me most of what I know about life.

I have worked in health and social care for the past 25yrs from community work / working with gangs and socially excluded young people to Disabled adults and older people. I am interested in the ways that social care services are delivered around the world.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am interested in meeting new people and helping them with travel/adventure. I have no preference for a type or gender of guest although for some reason the guys seem to be a bit less reliable/ dont show up! I enjoy an ethos of sharing what we have and supporting each others goals.

I dont agree with CS strong-arming people to donate, especially those that laregly host. For this reason you can find me on the other most popular app supporting travellers.

Anyway...!

My approach to 'thing's is that nothing really belongs to us - 'things' simply choose to be with us for a short period of time. My house is one of these things, and I try to keep it open to travellers.. I think my past guests will testify to this.

That said, please avoid sending last minute requests as I will often have to decline (if it's an emergency however then of course that's fine) I don't know why but most of my requests from guys are short notice and that's never going ro work for me. If you do cancel please give me plenty of notice too. Please read about my home before you send a request.

Couchsurfing isn't a cheaper alternative to staying in a hostel or hotel so come prepared to share stories and skills. If you have some experiences or hobbies to share, and have time to stay for a few days then I will be happy to host you.

Interests

Climbing, cycling, swimming, mechanical things, art

  • rock climbing
  • swimming

Music, Movies, and Books

The Big Lebrowski

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have had some great adventures with my sons, my eldest with who I drove 3000 miles around Europe in a rally and backpacking with my youngest son to see the Naga fireballs in Nong Khai, Thailand a few years later driving to Croatia with my youngest son in a 1986 Scirocco race-car. Other peak experiences included off-roading over Mount Pacaya volcano in Guatamala during an earthquake and swimming in the Mekongd. I spent some of the pandemic back packing across South America over 6 months.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to swim, play chess and make fire from a mushroom and of course share Bristol! I have just bought a campervan, so keen to do weekend explorations.

What I Can Share with Hosts

guitar, art, cooking , hiking and showing you around Bristol or at least suggesting some good spots.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Colombia, Denmark, Ecuador, France, Germany, Guatemala, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Paraguay, Poland, Scotland, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United States, Wales

Join Couchsurfing to see Russell’s full profile.

My Groups