Chris Paul's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris’s full profile.


  • 19 references 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Italian, Japanese
  • 51, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • ESL Teacher
  • Graduated from San Francisco State University in Spanish ...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


I have recently started publishing a short story anthology and would like to continue doing that. I'd also like to travel as much as possible!


I'm an easy-going guy, down-to-earth guy. I enjoy reading and writing a lot. I publish a short story anthology. I love traveling and have lived in Madrid, Spain on and off for 5 years.
I teach and translate whenever there is work available. I love meeting new people from around the world, and since I'm not working a lot at the moment, I'd be happy to host from time to time or meet for coffee and show you around San Francisco or Berkeley.


I believe in living life the way I think it should be lived, to teach
by doing not preaching. I'm an atheist, for lack of a better word-
although its a negative term. There's no word in our dictionary
for people who don't believe in Santa Claus or the Tooth Fairy..
So, since there is no after-life the only thing left to do is live
this life to the fullest! Travel, study, create. Do whatever it is
that makes you truly happy.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I am able to host anytime. I would also like to participate in more Couchsurfing events.


Reading, writing, practicing my Spanish and learning other foreign languages, photography, watching movies, riding my bike, spending time outdoors, and of course, traveling whenever possible.

  • writing
  • books
  • photography
  • coffee
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • teaching
  • languages

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I traveled around the US alone in my van in for one month. Then I traveled around Europe for two months, visiting France, Holland, Germany, the Czech Republic, and Austria. Later I moved to Spain to teach English and became fluent in Spanish. I accomplished a lifelong dream last year when I traveled to Japan for three weeks. That was amazing! But personally my greatest accomplishment has been learning Spanish.

Teach, Learn, Share

I've been an ESL teacher for over 10 years and now teach Spanish as well. I love to meet new people and learn about their cultures.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I wish the "hosting availability" had more than one option! I can probably host you for a couple of nights with enough advance notice. I would also enjoy meeting up for a coffee and showing you around if you've already got a place to stay.
There is a comfortable futon bed for you in the living room.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Portugal

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris’s full profile.

My Groups