Ian Russell's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ian’s full profile.

Overview

  • 170 references 150 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Tour manager / Music Journalist / Editor / Photograpther ...
  • I Know It Sounds Stupid, But The School Of Life, I left s...
  • From London, England, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

It's so great to be able to travel again post pandemic, but it really pains me how many people now use this site simply for free travel or worse (Dating).

If I request with you, please atleast reply, couchsurfing should be about connections and I totally understand when people can't host, but just rejecting the reply without even a "busy sorry" really does annoy me (I'll also ofc always reply to your requests!)

Not many people really want to travel to where I now live sadly, but if you want a bit of a quiet "get away" and to meet a fellow traveler my house will almost always welcome you!

CURRENT MISSION
Meet as many people as possible and share my religion (MUSIC).

ABOUT ME
Well, My name is Ian, I'm now 33 (its sad that I didnt update this for 2 years due to covid...)... Music really is my life, I live, work and, Well I don't really create it but I help others make it :)

I now live in a small village named coningsby, it is between boston and lincoln, and is only really visited for its RAF base - if you like planes you might want to visit, if you want quiet... hmmm, maybe not! (They do stop flying at 6pm normally)

I love hosting people, never really state a maximum stay, Just let me know when you need a bed and I'll do my best!

PHILOSOPHY

Musica vita est - Music Is Life (Latin)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Host, Meet, Drink, And have fun!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE
- I've hosted well over 100 people from so many different countries!
- I actually met the girl of my dreams on CS (Sadly now not together, but it was still worth it...)
- Surfed In: Germany, Budapest, Krakow, Warsaw and Portugal, belgium, luxemburg, Italy, scotland, Denmark, Sweden, norway, wales, austria... And many more to come

Interests

Music, Festivals, Gigs, Films, and just sitting back watching the world go by.

Music, Movies, and Books

Books:
Donnie Brasco (Joseph D. Pistone)...
Chris Carter (All his books so far!)
I love crime books, which means I normally like crime films.

I'm not sure I could think of 1 all time movie, but some movies I love include:
Phonebooth,
The Recruit,
Scream 1 & 2,
Rocky (All but 5, Man that was awful),

Music wise there is no way I could name my fav band, but my top 5 AT THE MOMENT & in NO order are:
Rage Against The Machine,
System Of A Down,
Frank Turner,
Guns N Roses,
The King Blues

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I feel the need to update this now as with CS I have done so many amazing things...
- Help book a Germany / Netherlands / UK tour for singer-songwriter Harrison Rimmer
- Crashed a HBO party in Budapest with the help of Doro & Balint
- Helped re-build a Yurt home for a family in Wuppertal, Germany
- Cooked pulled pork for countless hosts!
- Helped take care of an 8 year old and his mum (Nina) while they moved from Germany to England
- Had friends come from England, Germany, Hungary and The Netherlands to join me for 1 day in Amsterdam

Teach, Learn, Share

Happy To Teach:
Organization & Management - I've ran so many organizations in the past I am very good at being organized :)
Event Management - I love teaching this skill to people, in the past I've loved it too much actually, teaching people who have later gone out in competition with me.
Cooking - I've always had a huge love for cooking, espech fusion-cooking (mixing items that would normally not be mixed!)

Would Like To Learn:
Cooking - Always good to learn more about 1 of my loves :)
Building things - I've never really done any DIY but recently have looked into building camper-bikes & some sound gear

What I Can Share with Hosts

Live Music: As I run quite a few live music events I'd always be happy to have surfers attend them :)
Cooking: I always try to cook at-least 1 meal for surfers

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Ian’s full profile.

My Groups