Steven Mason's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 16 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Steven’s full profile.


  • 16 references 15 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 48, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Roaming private TEFL tutor
  • English literature/Philosophy
  • From Boscastle, Cornwall / Swansea
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I like meeting people who enjoy decent conversation or have an interest they're passionate about ... or else are just simply nice. I Iove the process of learning. I'm pretty down to earth.

Writing is my passion in life, I guess ... I didn't have the talent as a novelist, so the way things have worked out it's now philosophy.

I've spent much time travelling via the HelpX work exchange site. I met some great people and made enduring friendships through it. I'd now like to try out some regular couchsurfing, having so enjoyed my previous experience...

(My response rate is rather low at the time of writing - I'm not sure why. I don't usually response to unpersonalised one sentence requests before and during the Reading Festival, which might explain some of this.

I'm also now based in Swansea, Wales but can't seem to change my address on my CS profile!)


  • arts
  • writing
  • chess
  • guitar
  • countryside
  • good conversation

Music, Movies, and Books

More alternative tastes: The Fall, Velvet Underground, Joy Division, Pixies, Bjork, Slowdive; others: The Doors, Neil Young, Bob Dylan, hill country blues.
I also like classical: Schubert and Mahler lieder, German opera, Schlusnus, Ferrier, Souzay, Janowitz ...

Films by: Herzog, Bergman, Woody Allen, Ken Russell, Kieślowski, my favourites are Pasolini and Tarkovsky.

Books: Pretty much philosophy for a couple of years (Husserl, Cartwright, Quine, ) - I'm currently engaged in a (woefully overdue) writing project. I don't have time to read many novels, unfortunately. I like W H Auden, Wallace Stevens, Rilke

Teach, Learn, Share

Help with the English Language, if you'd like - tips, pronunciation etc. ... I like to play chess. I'm always happy to teach a song or two on the guitar.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, England, France, Germany, Greece, India, Italy, Malta, Myanmar, Poland, Spain, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Thailand, Wales

Join Couchsurfing to see Steven’s full profile.