Tom & Karlijn Steains's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 8 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tom & Karlijn’s full profile.


  • 12 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French; learning Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2023
  • Account manager & Lawyer
  • University
  • From Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

We are Tom (31 years old) and Karlijn (30 years old), from Melbourne, Australia and Breda, The Netherlands. We met about 7 years ago while travelling in Thailand and a year and a half later Tom moved to The Netherlands.

We are down to earth and love to travel the world and learn new things. We enjoy spending time with family and friends and meeting new people.

Some of our favourite things are: scuba diving, (live) music, sports, hiking and playing (board) games. Tom loves almost every sport in the world, but Australian rules football, cricket, football (soccer) and tennis are his favourites. Together we watch every Collingwood game (our Aussie rules football team) and enjoy watching (sport) documentaries. Karlijn loves almost everything to do with the ocean and would like to become a dive master one day. We like swimming in the ocean, surfing and walking on the beach (often doing beach clean ups).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

We both quit our jobs at the end of 2022 and are currently travelling around the world for 18-24 months! We always use local transport within a continent and have been to some amazing, but also some very interesting 'random' places travelling this way. The countries we have visited on this trip so far are listed below.

During a 60 hour train trip from Tanzania to Zambia we met Ramon from Spain who told us how good couchsurfing was and so we decided to sign up! As we currently don't have a house ourselves, we are unable to host. However, we would like to do so in the future once we are back in The Netherlands!


  • documentaries
  • running
  • reading
  • eating out
  • live music
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • tennis
  • nature
  • padel
  • boardgames
  • world affairs

Music, Movies, and Books

Music - we like a variety of different music, like Paolo Nutini, Noah Kahan, RHCP, Kid Cudi, HAIM, Xavier Rudd, Bob Dylan, Fleetwood Mac and songs we hear and random songs we Shazam while travelling.

Books- some of our favourite books are Half of a Yellow Sun, The Alchemist, Africa Is Not A Country, I Am Malala and Scar Tissue.

Movies - we don't tend to watch a lot of movies, but we do like some classics like Forrest Gump and Intouchables. We do watch quite a lot of documentaries on a wide range of subjects like sport, politics, food and traveling.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Climbed Mount Kilimanjaro

What I Can Share with Hosts

We are very easygoing and go with the flow. So we like to spend time together with our host, but also are happy to entertain ourselves. We would like to learn about the culture of the hosts country, go out for a hike together or just go for a coffee or beer. Karlijn likes to cook, so we're happy to make dinner during our stay!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Egypt, India, Israel, Jordan, Kenya, Mexico, Mozambique, Palestine, Rwanda, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, United States, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Denmark, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Tom & Karlijn’s full profile.