Trang Nguyen's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Trang’s full profile.

Overview

  • 12 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Japanese, Vietnamese; learning German
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Travel journalist
  • MSc in Entomology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Sometimes when I'm able to host, I will change my availability to Accepting Guests. Please read my Profile and My Home carefully before sending request, and if your request gets cancelled without any explanation, it means I know you haven't read my profile. I can make some exceptions sometimes but don't rely on it too much.

====================

ABOUT ME

Hi, my name is Trang. Merilwen Horseback is my Elvish name for my half-elf character. You can call me Meril as well.
I'm a big fan of Lord of the Rings, and musicals such as Les Miz or Phantom of the Opera. I love to learn and challenge new things.
I actually am leaning Elvish - Sindarin. I think people should add Elvish into the language list. 😆

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I want to meet travel lovers from all around the world. Though my room is very small (typical for single in Japan) so I cannot accept guests, but I'd love to guide people around Tokyo.
My house in Hanoi, Vietnam has a room for guests on the third floor.

Interests

My hobby is traveling alone or in small group, so I can increase my chance of meeting and talking with new people, making new friends and learning new things. While traveling, I'll try to capture each and every moment with my camera so I can always remember about places I've visited, people I've met and feeling I've had.

I also have loads of other interests, and one of them is watercolour painting (I'm learning). Take a look at my insta if you're interested: https://www.instagram.com/merilwen_horseback/ (the first painting is about the origin of my oc Merilwen Horseback :P)

  • singing
  • photography
  • board games
  • traveling
  • painting
  • classical music
  • karaoke
  • opera
  • hiking
  • snorkeling
  • snowboarding
  • rock
  • diving
  • horseriding
  • yosakoi
  • musical
  • lotr
  • go (baduk, weiqi)

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Rock (70s, 80s Heavy Metal, Symphonic Death, Progressive, Doom, Gothic...), classical (especially Beeth), opera, musical (POTO, Les Miz, Elisabeth...)
Books: Fantasy (LOTR, Harry Potter, His Dark Materials...), science (astronomy, biology and anything interesting)
Films/Movies: Ghibli's animations, Sense8, The Greatest Showman...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Rather than amazing things, I often do crazy things. We should talk to get into details, but here are some of the list:
- Filled my passport's pages 2 years before it gets expired.
- Rode (alone) bicycle more than 100km from Amsterdam to Utrecht and Naarden. Took me a whole day and my knees almost fell out.
- Chose (alone) the wrong path to the opposite side of the mountain even though I knew it's wrong. I just wanted to see what's at the other side.
- Karaoke (with friends, phew~) 10 hours straight overnight. After that my voice just kept staying in high-pitch, it sounded hilarious!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can tell you stories about insects. They are always my favorite creatures on Earth. Beautiful, fascinating, and unexpectedly strong. My major in the universities in Vietnam and Japan was entomology, specialized in social insects so I think I know quite a lot about them.
I can also teach you Vietnamese and Japanese.

Every stories from you is what I want to learn, and to share.

Btw, I'm sharing some of my travel experiences in WP here: https://merilhorseback.home.blog

What I Can Share with Hosts

My enthusiasm in travel (I mean my stories of different cultures from different countries, stories about my experiences while traveling...)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Canada, China, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, India, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Netherlands, Philippines, Russian Federation, Scotland, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Taiwan, Thailand, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

India, Japan, Viet Nam

Join Couchsurfing to see Trang’s full profile.

My Groups