Elaine T's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 91% response rate
  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Elaine’s full profile.

Overview

  • 31 references 25 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Yue (Cantonese); learning Chinese (Simplified), Danish, German, Spanish
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Mental health, public health research
  • Claremont Colleges, Harvard
  • From Hong Kong
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hongkonger in Boston working in public health/mental health research. I love meeting new people, sharing stories and perspectives, exploring the outdoors, and learning new things.

Once described as a "surprisingly articulate 14-year-old" in a Delta in-flight magazine.

Please read my whole profile and "my home" tab before sending a request, thanks :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Couchsurfing has been such a rewarding and horizon-expanding experience for me over the years. You get to meet so many generous, fun, and interesting travelers and adventurers that you would never have crossed paths with otherwise.

Interests

My collection of interests includes playing the piano and accordion, long-distance unicycling and unicycle hockey, learning new languages (currently maintaining German and learning Spanish), cooking and baking new recipes, and exploring new restaurants and cafes.

Obscure museums, urban exploring, concerts, jazz clubs, city views, hiking, musicals, spelunking, wildlife photography, cooking classes, food tours, camping, and kayaking are also among my favorite things.

Currently taking a herpetology (i.e., amphibians/reptiles) course and thinking about getting a private pilot license - would love to chat more about these if there are alignments!

  • cats
  • dogs
  • reptiles
  • culture
  • photography
  • concerts
  • cooking
  • baking
  • politics
  • board games
  • painting
  • piano
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • scuba diving
  • hockey
  • languages
  • psychology
  • social science
  • road trips
  • parks
  • ukulele
  • nature
  • tea
  • learning languages
  • national parks
  • biking
  • public health
  • indie music
  • accordion
  • rocks
  • escape rooms
  • unicycling
  • urbanism
  • musical instruments
  • unicycle hockey

Music, Movies, and Books

Books - psych/social science books, memoirs, anything about the human experience, public health, mental health. Please send recommendations!

Movies and TV - dramas, independent movies, comedies, documentaries. Everything Everywhere All at Once.

Music - leaning towards more indie/alternative/oldies. My current Spotify playlists of choice are "Surf Rock Sunshine" and "Feel-Good Indie Rock".

I follow podcasts on social science, geopolitics, and psychology (e.g., Hidden Brain, More Perfect, Drum Tower, Criminal, Good Job Brain)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Bikepacked over 3000km through Europe for two months from Amsterdam, through the Balkans, to Rome. Who knew the Alps were steep?

Went on a 150 mile solo unicycle trip from Pittsburgh, PA to Cumberland, MD

Worked on a dairy farm for a month in the Thal region of Switzerland

Had a staring contest with a hammerhead shark near Sipidan Island in Malaysia

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you...
- how to play the piano
- how to ride a unicycle
- some Cantonese phrases
- ways to creatively procrastinate

I would like to learn...
- obscure phrases in your native language
- new recipes and ways of making food
- anything that you are passionate about

Let's chat about urbanism, the future of work, language differences, nostalgic childhood memories, minimalism, odd food combinations, third culture kids, how you're living by your values, and so on!

What I Can Share with Hosts

An open mind, travel stories, musical instruments to play (keyboard, ukulele, guitar, accordion), bike tours around the area, long walks and hiking trips, an excellent selection of tea, competitive games of Catan and other boardgames, an oxytocin boost from the cats

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Guam, Guatemala, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Paraguay, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark, Hong Kong, United States

Old School Badges

  • 2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Elaine’s full profile.

My Groups