Valeriia ARNAUD's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 86% response rate
  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Valeriia’s full profile.

Overview

  • 86 references 76 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Russian, Ukrainian; learning German, Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Freelance translator
  • Linguistic university
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

LAST MINUTE REQUESTS ARE WELCOME.

I am Valeriia (or Lera) from Ukraine, but it's been since 2013 that I live as an expat with my husband Xavier (https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/libertissiste) changing the place of living every year and a half. And I love it even if it's much more tough than what it sounds!

I'm passionate about literature and languages, cycling and photography. I love cooking and eating well. We are both flexitarians and very much into sustainable eco living and slow traveling.

Even if I adore traveling (otherwise I wouldn't be on CS, would I?), I also love my routine and little habits that we have with Xavier.

Together we have a travel / photography blog : independentpeople.net

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love meeting people that I know for sure share my passion for traveling.

I remember well the times when I was a student, who didn't know where to crash for the night, so now I wish to give something in return and host wanderers passing by the city I currently live in - wherever it might be.

Besides, I believe that CS is the most poetic way of human interaction - you meet a soulmate and then you let them go until your paths cross each other again. Or not.

Interests

Traveling, blogging, literature, photography, cycling, France and Ukraine, learning languages, cooking, Salsa and Bachata dancing, drawing & painting, embroidery, gardening.

  • arts
  • culture
  • writing
  • literature
  • photography
  • dancing
  • bachata
  • cooking
  • walking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • sports
  • languages
  • kizomba
  • france
  • salsa
  • expat life

Music, Movies, and Books

Contemporary and classic literature, indie-rock and a long list of movies

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Parachute jump, cycled around Iceland by tandem, traveled to the North Cape in a rusty van, created a travel blog, learnt French in 1,5 years, lived in London, but the most extraordinary thing - I met Xavier.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I hosted dozens of people so I have a very clear idea of what a perfect surfer is :D

I don't surf often, but when I do, it's above all to meet a new person, who could share stories and tell more about their country.

I come with my sleeping equipment.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Estonia, France, Russian Federation, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Valeriia’s full profile.

My Groups