Ellis Kokko's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ellis’s full profile.

Overview

  • 16 references 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Finnish, Spanish; learning French, Russian, Swedish
  • 34, Other
  • Member since 2010
  • Currently doing a Masters in Social Anthropology
  • MSc Social and Cultural Anthropology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to stop waisting my time with things or people that aren't worth it - life is too short :)

ABOUT ME

Hello!

Maybe it is a typical Finnish thing but I always feel quite uncomfortable with this type of self-descriptions (and anyway I don't believe that anyone can know much about someone based on 350 words and a list of favourite books) Therefore, if you want to surf with me you'll just have to find it out! I am not expecting you to memorize the "amazing things I've done" or to quote some code words from my profile - just be kind and that will be enough. If you are thinking of hosting me, I sincerely hope we can share more than just superficial small talk :)

I currently live in Edinburgh with my dog Milton and my flatmate Kat. I’m studying part-time for an Anthropology PhD and work in mental health advocacy. Im passionate about mad activism, queer rights and transformative justice!

I love the outdoors - hiking, camping, swimming - you name it! In my free time I run a queer hiking group - you’re very welcome to join us for a walk!

I like ranting about politics and sociologically over-analyzing everything. I also like watching Netflix and Finnish soap operas. Most of the time I'm also happy just listening and can be quiet at times. People that know me usually say that I am totally crazy and they are probably right ;)

I am a queer, non-binary person and I hope you will respect that :)

Due to sharing a flat and working early hours hosting is not ideal at the moment - but do send me a request anyway and we can see if it works out :)

PHILOSOPHY

Be kind.

I think you can learn something from everyone you meet even if not always in such obvious ways.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

During my year in Chile, we traveled quite a lot around Latin America and couchsurfing gave us some unmemorable experiences - I am very grateful for everyone who hosted us and helped to make our travels amazing. In Europe also, couchsurfing has been a great way of travel.

In 2014-2015 we lived in Finland and hosted a few times. I absolutely loved it, maybe even more than surfing! Looking forward to hosting more in the future.

We spent spring 2016 traveling in Asia and once again couchsurfing gave us some unforgettable experiences.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Almost all of my experiences have been very positive, and very, very different! I love how different people you get to meet and in how unexpected places you find yourself with CS.

Interests

I am very interested in Latin America and I'm always looking forward to discover more of it. I absolutely love cats (and most animals). I love traveling (of course!). I enjoy photography and occasionally I like to paint or draw or do other arty stuff. I really appreciate good wine (even if my knowledge of wine is very limited), good meals and long, surprising conversations with friends. I am not much of a party person but I like going for a few drinks or inviting people over for a relaxed night at home. I find yoga, meditation and tarot very fascinating and I'm currently trying to learn more about them.

  • animals
  • cats
  • dogs
  • books
  • photography
  • wine
  • yoga
  • running
  • meditation
  • politics
  • traveling
  • painting
  • drawing
  • hiking
  • camping
  • swimming
  • sociology
  • hitchhiking
  • mountains
  • forests
  • outdoors

Music, Movies, and Books

As I don't believe in classifying people based on their taste in music or whatever, I don't think this section is very relevant ;)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Living in the forest for 6 months while hiking the Appalachian trail (2192 miles!)

Hitchhiking with crazy truck drivers in Chile and Peru.

Finding a kitten in a vegetable market in Chile and bringing her back to Europe (she even did some couchsurfing on the way)

Teach, Learn, Share

I guess we all learn something from each other, but it is often hard to know what exactly it will be.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Cambodia, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, Egypt, El Salvador, England, Estonia, France, Germany, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Mongolia, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Northern Ireland, Norway, Panama, Peru, Poland, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Chile, Finland, Scotland

Join Couchsurfing to see Ellis’s full profile.

My Groups