Irene Cheng's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Irene’s full profile.


  • 35 references 18 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English; learning Japanese
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Outdoor adventurous
  • Restaurant & Hospitality management. BA
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

You will find me in the mountain, ocean, or on the climbing wall more than see me in the shopping mall.
I never learn how to draw but I still pick up my oil brush sometimes when I got the feeling.
I bring my watercolour tools and camera with me when I'm traveling. Guess I might have an artist soul.
It's hard for me to stay in a comfort zone. I'm a challenge seeker full of curiosity and love to learn new things in everyday life.
I'm also an entrepreneur.
To say that, I have two business. First is a cafe in Taiwan back in 2011, second is a street food business in London from 2016. Being a business woman and traveling really open up my world.

I became a vegetarian in 2019 summer after seeing how our earth and food been polluted and destroy.

Last but not least, I moved to Japan in 2020 and continue my next adventures.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Couchsurfing is a brilliant idea to cross two different lines.
To discover and learn how people live their life with different background and cultural.

I use Couchsurfing most of time when I'm traveling, I send the request only when I find the person I'm curious, I wonder maybe they will show me the world from different ways.


Cook /
Things that influence my recipes: my parents ,my travels, the place where I grew up, the seasons, the chefs I met from my job, the blogs I visited.

Sport /
I would like to try all kinds of sports.
Rock Climbing. Snowboarding, Skiing , Slackline , Snorkeling , Surfing , Running , kayaking , Cycling ,Hiking , Swim

Photography /
Hideaki Hamada and Caitlin Van Horn are my favorite photographer.
Here's my online photo album

I love making things by myself and adore something which is hand made and unique.
I’m learning oil painting now and programming.

I had played trumpet for three years when I was junior hight school student.
Self taught Learning Piano and ukulele, kalimba now.
I listen to any kinds of music except heavy metal music.

  • arts
  • photography
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • painting
  • piano
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • rock climbing
  • mountains
  • oil painting
  • oilpainting

Music, Movies, and Books

Ask me when we meet, it changes all the time.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Start my own business in 21. It taught me if you really want to do something, the world will help you.

Urban climbing at night .... A couchsurfer brought me to climb a building called Tate museum Switch House .

Teach, Learn, Share

I'd like to share my recipes and enjoy cooking with others.
Exploring unknown places.
I'm always welling to learn some different skills or sports.

There's a Couchsurfer wrote down these words and I'm totally agree with.

'' This is the beginnings of the future CouchSurfing University, a school where everyone's a student and everyone's a teacher. Surfing isn't just about a place to sleep. It's about exchange. From esoteric knowledge to practical skills to friendship....''

What I Can Share with Hosts

My dramatic life story. believe me, it's a good story.
Cooking Taiwanese cuisine.
Learning Mandarin for free !
Go climbing .

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, China, Croatia, Denmark, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, New Zealand, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Japan, Taiwan, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Irene’s full profile.

My Groups