Yohei Shimanuki's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 19 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Yohei’s full profile.

Overview

  • 12 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Japanese; learning Chinese, Zulu
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • HR project manager at Toyota Motor Corporation
  • Tohoku University 2013
  • From Nishiokitama District, Yamagata, Japan
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a HR manager at an automotive company and currently backpacking through Europe for about 2 months.

I love exploring new places, learning about local cultures and meeting with people from different parts of the world.

Born and raised in a small town in Japan,
I have studied abroad in California, Taiwan, Korea,
have worked in South Africa,
and have traveled over 30 countries.

Here to connect with interesting people to learn from each others.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

・I like meeting people from different countries

Interests

  • education
  • coffee
  • running
  • technology
  • jazz
  • guitar
  • backpacking
  • philosophy
  • psychology
  • meeting people
  • craft beer
  • languages and cultures
  • beatles
  • community development

Music, Movies, and Books

・Music: 70-80’s American / English songs
・Movies: Good human dramas
・Books: Business, Psychology, Classics

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I happened to pick up an American hitchhiker in Japan and it turned out to be a on TV show.

Teach, Learn, Share

・Teach: Japanese culture / Language
・Learn: Anything
・Share: Travel experience / Intercultural work experience

What I Can Share with Hosts

・Japanese language, culture and corporate culture
・Multi cultural work experience in South Africa
・Travel experiences / stories
・Guitar (it gets better when I’m drunk)
・Connection with good people across Japan
・Tips of traveling to especially rural areas in Japan

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Cambodia, China, Denmark, Egypt, England, France, Germany, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kenya, Lesotho, Luxembourg, Malawi, Malaysia, Mongolia, Namibia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Rwanda, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Swaziland, Taiwan, Thailand, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United States, Viet Nam, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Japan, Mongolia, South Africa, South Korea, Taiwan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Yohei’s full profile.