Kieto Mahaniah's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kieto’s full profile.

Overview

  • 94 references 84 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Finnish, French
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Operations Manager, Humanitarian Logistics Research Insti...
  • Masters
  • From Andover, MA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Generally with a positive outlook on the world, I live in a world of chaos consisting of Salsa Rueda dancing, cooking food with friends, and rock climbing in between my Masters studies and remote work world. I moved to Helsinki in August 2021, and am looking to explore the city with you and learn about this place with you. I have German and American background, but have exposure to so much more. I look forward to long conversations over home-made meals, and a unique drink at the end of the day!
I have been recently joined by a young puppy, Kaylee, who has joined my life! She was born in December, so when you visit she will be just a few months old! Be ready for biting, teething, and general puppy based shenanigans.
One of my close friends is also staying with me between trips. She is new to couchsurfing, but open to meeting new people and exchanging travel stories!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I started traveling for the places. Now I travel for the people. Couchsurfing is an excellent way to pursue that goal of meeting different people. Living centrally, I would love to share the blessings I have with anyone looking to pass through the Helsinki area, or just in need of a place to stay! More conversations with more people is the goal!

Interests

I tend to try many new things and really enjoy them. If it is an experiences that challenges my physical, cultural, or social resolve, chances are I will want to try it again or practice. I am always up for new "interests" and as an international traveler, that is almost a necessity.

  • poetry
  • singing
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • working out
  • clubbing
  • reading
  • scuba diving
  • swimming
  • travel
  • art
  • watching movies
  • rock-climbing
  • cuddling
  • museums
  • talking
  • salsa
  • long walks
  • walks
  • salsa rueda

Music, Movies, and Books

Afro-Celt Sound System are AWESOME. Reel Big Fish are a pump up band. Billy Joel for chill times. Riddick, Fast and Furious, Totoro, Spirited Away, The Lunchbox, are all top of my list for movies. Lord of the Rings, Name of the Wind, and the Belgariad Trilogy are must reads.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

It was with a group, and I turned a bunch of un-trained freshmen who had never even SEEN snow before, into a mountain-peaking crew, willing to set up tents and campsites without guidance in the snow and dark.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach- About my life, what I've done, whatever interests. Can teach Salsa Rueda as well!
Learn- Really anything is welcome. Especially things I have no knowledge about, or where you are more knowledgable than I am.

What I Can Share with Hosts

PUPPY THERAPY
Mindfullness- I can lead a mindfullness session to further your awareness of yourself and the world around you.
Music and Dance- Love doing both with anybody.
A Smile- A day does not go by without good times. Happiness is my resting state.
Conversation- Travel and Interest in People has created an interest in Conversation that I would love to share with people.
Security- I am CPR/AED Certified.
A New Perspective- My parents are multi-ethnic, as am I. I will try to bring new thoughts around any ideas that come my way.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bermuda, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Denmark, Ecuador, England, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Costa Rica, Finland, Germany, Italy, Slovakia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kieto’s full profile.

My Groups