Serhat Bilgiç's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Serhat’s full profile.


  • 57 references 38 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish, Turkish
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2019
  • Event Management
  • American Studies (USA Philology)
  • From Turkey
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

The update I procrastinated, as of July 2024

Lo primero es lo primero, ahora aquí se habla español y se ha convertido en mi idioma preferido.

He sobrevivido 4 años en Latinoamérica gracias a las personas más amables que he conocido en el camino. A esa geografia le debo una vida. Encuéntrame si puedo ser de ayuda. Definitivamente regresaré allí alguna vez para morir jaja

I haven't been able to use this program in the last couple of years due to changes in my life. After living 4 years abroad, now I am back in my hometown.

During COVID-19 like many people I suffered as a tourism labourer. I have closed my home, quit the already dead job I have had and moved to Ecuador at random. I didn't know anyone, didn't even speak Spanish. I have had lots of adventures and dramas that in the end I consider myself a defacto Guayaco/Ecuadoriano.

I have settled in with family temporarily so unless it's life or death matter i won't be able to do hosting until I move to my own place. But if you are in trouble or believe we definetely should meet, please find me :)

The original is below as it was, nothing changed except for my age.
Hey everyone. I am very new here. Before that I could not join the community because of my very busy job I had no time for anything.

My name is Serhat, 32 years old, born in Istanbul.
My one grandmother is Albanian, coming from Bitola, Macedonia. The other one is Circassian, coming from Adyge Republic, Maikop. They migrated long time ago, but both sides still retain the cultural values and elements. Yeah and both of my grandfathers are from Turkey, Eastern and Northern Anatolia.

I studied American Culture and Literature in the capital, Ankara University but at the same time I was working for tourism agencies. My profession was organizing meetings, incentive trips, corporate events and such mostly pharma and medicine. Eventually I quitted my faculty when I was on final grade and started working in the same business professionally.

After 11 years, I had enough of it. I am currently official jobless having a rest and working as a freelancer with a human resource company supporting such events while getting paid a jobless grant money from the government.

I am a world citizen interested in history, philosophy and literature, still looking to find the meaning of life.

I am INTP.

I believe in Anarchist Communism, a world based on solely solidarity without supreme ruler of any kind. People I deeply
respect, Nestor Makhno, Che Guevara, Emiliano Zapata, Errico Malatesta, Farabundo Marti, Buenaventura Durruti, every single member of the Paris Commune...

I used to try to do more than believing, though all out of a sudden, a wire was cut only to break the harmony inside. Consequently I gave up everything to start a new life. Found myself as a lone, silent, not fitting person who constantly changes locations as a stupid white collar worker which I abhored deeply. Like Cyrano de Bergerac, I have tried to be everything and became nothing in the end.

Following the path of an existentalist, that is optimistic nihilist... Shortly this is the motto: “Life sucks and we are all doomed but this does not mean we cannot enjoy it”.

But, I want to see the world burn down. We will find a way, even if we have to wait until all hope is gone, we will find a way to end this madness. I just try to be the best of me and make anything I can touch a little bit better. Sometimes I fail.

Other than these, I love beer, coffee, chess and reading.

Been in: Munich, Paris, Riga, Cairo, Nairobi, Naivasha, Copenhagen, Frankfurt, Milan, Lyon, Skopje, Ohrid, Tiran, Baku, Moscow, St. Petersburg, Minsk, Odessa, Casablanca, Marrakech, Dubai, Kuwait City, Kyrenia, all around Turkey

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am kind of bored and at a point everything became really boring in my life. I want to meet similar minded people from around to world to discuss history, life, philosophy, music, analyzation of the century and formulas for way out of this crazy century’s burdens if possible. Or yeah sometimes just casual chat too, it’s always nice hear other people’s stories.

So far, it has been going perfect!


  • cats
  • literature
  • human rights
  • beer
  • coffee
  • politics
  • chess
  • philosophy
  • nature
  • freedom
  • socialism
  • equality
  • anarchism
  • justice
  • existentialism
  • aquariums
  • solidarity

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Pink Floyd!
Rock, Metal, Folk mainly and any tune telling a nice story

Queen, Anathema, Robert Wyatt, Iron Maiden, Metallica, Slipknot, Korn, Deftones, Tool, System of a Down, Disturbed, Sentenced, Iced Earth, Kamelot, Stratovarius, Helloween, Bob Marley, Alpha Blondy, Joan Baez, Leonard Cohen, Muse, Starsailor, R.E.M, Gipsy Kings, Manu Chao, Boikot, Victor Jara, Inti Ilimani, Scorpions, Beirut, Imany, Ahmet Kaya, Cem Karaca, Group Yorum and many more

I have ADHD so I can’t enjoy movies. I don’t like Hollywood at all but I enjoyed Ingmar Bergman’s movies a lot, especially Persona. Also for TV series, I loved “How I met your mother” and South Park.

Literature: Mainly existentialism!
Some authors to name : Franz Kafka, Jack London, Stefan Zweig, Jean-Paul Sartre, Albert Camus, Heinrich von Kleist, George Perec, Cesare Pavese, Fernando Pessoa, Jack Kerouac, Boris Vian, Chuck Palahniuk, Lev Tolstoy, Fyodor Dostoyevski, Oguz Atay, Oruc Arouba, Tezer Ozlu

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Living in Kenya for a month, every bit was amazing. Jambo Jambo Bwanaaa habagariiii Hakuna Matataaaa!

Teach, Learn, Share

That one depends on chemistry. Anything is possible as long as we are alive and wishing something to happen.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Anything I have. But note that I generally don’t have much:)

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Cyprus, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, France, Germany, Italy, Kenya, Kuwait, Latvia, Macedonia, Morocco, Russian Federation, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates

Countries I’ve Lived In

Cyprus, Ecuador, Kuwait, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Serhat’s full profile.

My Groups