Marie-Anne SERVE's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marie-Anne’s full profile.


  • 120 references 64 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning German, Hindi, Russian, Spanish
  • 38, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • Energy engineering
  • Energy and environmental engineering
  • From Lyon, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


helping to keep the "couchsurfing spirit": CS is neither a free hotel nor a dating website...


Curious of life, i like to meet people and share with them experience, stories, culture, languages, etc. I like to help and can be very welcoming as long as one does not take my generosity as granted.
I enjoy talking (too much?), especially with people who are passionate in what they like/do, as I am.

However, I am also very independent, and I sometimes need to stay alone to do what I have or want to do. I always plan hundreds of things, but if you contact me early enough, I will definitely save time for you and will always be glad to hang out.


"Dream as if you'll live forever, live as if you'll die today" (James Dean)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Hosting: I try to host as much as I can, show people around, suggest activities and introduce them to my friends.

Surfing: I usually spend time reading profile to find a host that I will get along with. When I travel, I like to be totally immersed in the country and culture.

Groups: I join the groups related to my interests and the places that i visit, to get advice, participate in events and organize some myself.

Whatever the case, I try to keep in touch with the people I meet.


I discovered CS in september 2007 when travelling in Berlin. Since then, I hosted everywhere I lived and surfed in many locations for various reasons.I really appreciate the people I met, the discussions and exchanges we had, and the advice they gave me. I always try to find a good reason to see them again!However, since I moved in India especially, I became more sceptical about the way people use the website, and sometimes very disapointed and worried about CS future...


Traveling: really original for a CSer!
Sport: acrobatic, water, outdoor and extreme sports
Dance: latin, ballroom, traditional... all kinds!
History: enjoy discovering hidden places in old cities
Learning: conferences, exhibitions, debates, readings... about anything! (history, culture, sciences, art...)

No interest: night clubs with loud music and men only looking for drunk women to sleep with...

  • arts
  • culture
  • theater
  • dancing
  • tango
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • guitar
  • outdoor activities
  • surfing
  • sports
  • swimming
  • extreme sports
  • history
  • languages
  • salsa
  • restaurants

Music, Movies, and Books

any kind, it depends on my mood...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Skydiving and bungee jumping. I love crazy things! (wanna try kytesurfing, paragliding, canyoning...)

Swimming with wild dolphins (Australia) and seal (Hawaii): unforgettable feelings...

Participating to a national dance competition in Yaoundé, Cameroun: second prize in traditional dance!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to dive, dance or cook some typical French meals

My life is all about learning! and anything you can teach me, I will most probably enjoy it :)
Especially: practise languages (Russian, English, German, Spanish) and guitar.

What I Can Share with Hosts

- Many travelling stories
- Dancing (salsa, batchata, merenge, zouk, east and west coast swing, rock'n roll, tango, valse...)
- a good meal (French or foreign)
- Playing or listening to music
- visiting cultural sites, museums, exhibitions
- attending a theater or dance show
- watching a movie

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, China, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Indonesia, Iran, Italy, Kyrgyzstan, Malaysia, Martinique, Moldova, Myanmar, Nepal, Norway, Oman, Romania, Russian Federation, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uzbekistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Cameroon, France, Germany, India, Kazakhstan, United States

Old School Badges

  • 16 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Marie-Anne’s full profile.

My Groups